We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“GREAT PLACE FOR HAPPY HOUR WITH LIVE MUSIC !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #49 of 1,908 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
238 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR HAPPY HOUR WITH LIVE MUSIC !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

La Cocina is a great place to enjoy an outdoor patio, meet new friends and listen to live music. The setting is laid back with desert plants, old southwest antiques. Drink specials for happy hour are terrific. The food is very good. There are live bands playing most nights. My wife and I would recommend this place for a fun time. You gotta go there !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    73
    23
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

During concerts they serve meals and drinks, if you get a chance go and listen to some live music here. Small area brings in good crowds, you will be within feet of the musicians. The food and drinks are great, very rustic setting covered in lights, sparkle and glitter. Great place to enjoy an evening in Tucson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank been_there_u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“True Historic Tucson Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We dined at La Cocina on a sunny afternoon-with the intent to visit the old town artisan shops afterwards that surrounded the charming/quaint (albeit rustic) courtyard restaurant. There was something on the menu for everyone and much to our surprise -- they also offered alcoholic beverages and also have a "happy hour". They have a coffee bar too, and offer live entertainment, and a delectable weekend brunch. La Cocina is worth the visit, as it located on the site of the El Presidio San Augustin del Tucson (dating to 1775). We all rather enjoyed the artsy and funky vibe of both the restaurant and shops. It is a lovely outing for all ages. By the way--the food was very tasty/fresh, priced reasonably, and presented artistically. Our food server exceeded our expectations. A perfect place to dine on a lazy afternoon. My only caveat is - "IF" you are a rather finicky/critical person -- you may find La Cocina too rustic. We loved it. We all agreed we would be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have had over a half-dozen meals; never the same dish twice; never disappointed! The service is great, and if a server is slow getting to your table, the owner will show up and take the order!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillR884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great if they'd speed it up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The atmosphere here is wonderful and the food is pretty good. The drinks are interesting and tasty. The kitchen is really slow. The waitress's are as quick and helpful as at most restaurants but the food is sooo slow to arrive. Worth another try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RandAinIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing