We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place is magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #62 of 1,976 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar, American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place is magical”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I walked into La Cocina and was immediately transported to another place and time - a beautiful courtyard surrounded by artisan stores, a Cantina, coffee bar, and lots of intimate places to sit. We sat up on the patio a little farther away from the live music (which was great, but we wanted to talk and visit with long time friends). The food was fabulous - so good we returned again during our week in Tucson. I had the quinoa bowl with peanut sauce - yum yum. The drinks were also great - very flavorful bloody mary the first trip and the best margarita outside of Mexico - certainly better than any i can get in Cleveland - even in the best Mexican restaurant. I also thought the seaweed salad was the best and most unique i’ve ever had. And on top of that, the owner came and engaged us to make sure we were well served - adding that extra personal touch. Go for the food and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kermitsbff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    80
    30
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This has to be one of the loveliest courtyards in Tucson. The relaxed atmosphere unwinds you. They so often have wonderful entertainment...musicians worth listening to, and yet, they play at the perfect volume where you can still have a converstion. Food and beverages are yummy and wellpriced. You feel like you belong when you are there. Great coffee drinks too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gemutlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, drinks, and service!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had read a few good reviews and a few bad reviews, but the menu and music was why my husband and I went this past Friday night. Upon arriving we realized it was "seat yourself" and started roaming around trying to find a seat. We got there just a little before seven and the place was filled with people. The manager noticed us looking for a table and gave us the suggestion of sitting in the bar since there were no tables outside. We decided that we would grab a drink in the bar and then go sit in chairs outside (without service) to enjoy the music for a bit before just eating in the bar area. While we were waiting for our drinks the manager came in and told us a couple had just left and she had set up their table for us. Once we sat down we were promptly served while we enjoyed the music.

I decided on the BBQ pulled pork sandwich and my husband got the curry. My sandwich was amazing - the sauce was a perfect amount of sweet and spice and the coleslaw on top really made the sandwich what it was. My husband said the curry was good, but that he's been spoiled by some of the Indian restaurants we've been to so it wasn't the best he's ever had.

We left around 8:30 which was nice because we didn't feel rushed but we also didn't feel like anything was taking too long. It was great!

Also, if you plan to arrive between about 7:15-8:15 on a Friday night I would suggest making reservations. They don't have a very good system for who arrived when and it's possible that people who just arrived were getting seated before others when it got a little full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerz360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The combo of atmosphere, food and music can't be beat!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We drive up almost every Friday night while in Arizona for the winter. It is our favorite combination of outdoor dining, food and music in Tucson. The Greg Morton Band, which plays on Friday night, should not be missed. These are not musicians just playing background music. They are first rate musicians and are one of the main reasons we go on Friday nights. Tucson has a great community of bluegrass musicians and this is one of the best places to enjoy it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cute, but needs some work”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a quaint little place right in the heart of the historic part of downtown Tucson. It's brightly colored buildings are old, but that adds to the charm. They have a lovely courtyard under trees, which is part of the problem.

Our table had bird poop on it, and it looks like the tables are never washed. It would be more appetizing if they would give you placemats, instead of putting your silverware and napkin on the dirty table.

The chairs are the plastic outdoor type. They look old and could be brittle, and they were also dirty.

The food is healthy offerings, including an option for gluten free bread. We had the chips with salsa and guacamole, and both were good. I would have like a little more spice in the salsa. We also ordered the chicken salad sandwich on ciabatta bread, and that was excellent.

I understand they have music sometimes, but there wasn't any while we were there. It seems like a good place to go to have a few drinks and listen to music.

We were there on a Sunday afternoon, so no problem with parking. I would go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoobyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing