We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint little place with stellar food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens On 4th Avenue

Athens On 4th Avenue
Ranked #180 of 1,971 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West University
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint little place with stellar food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a gem this place is. First time for the 5 of us dining there and all of us found our meals exceptional. We were there for an early lunch. Four of us had the Avgolemono Soup which made our eyes roll back in our heads. Heavenly. The Dolmathes were excellent, as was the Gyro Platter, Orea Salata and Salmon Salad on the Lunch Specials menu. We were all looking for something fairly light today, but the menu of specials looked heavenly! Lots of fresh seafood, i.e. sea bass, octopus, mussels, oh my. Will definitely return again. And for dinner next time! Our server was excellent.....I actually called her by name twice so I could mention her in my review, but alas, I have forgotten.....you know who you were and you were great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margauxverzaniPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    3
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were aware of its reputation, so, when wife and I were in downtown Tucson at lunchtime, we tracked down Athens on 4th Avenue. Sure glad we did. We both ordered the Gyro Platter. Menu says it was "rotisserie broiled spiced lamb and beef." So was it lamb or beef or both? We never knew but, whatever the meat was, it sure did taste great. The red juice from the meat was poured over the rice which brought new flavor to the white rice. Pita bread and salad were fine. The waitress was most helpful, and, when I expressed concern over the lack of Kalamata olives, she promptly brought us a dozen olives in a dish. We do not live in Tucson, but, when we are next in town feeling hungry, we shall probably find ourselves back at Athens on 4th Avenue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PadreArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
446 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Serendipity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our first two dining options were closed on Monday nights, finding Athens on 4th Avenue was a happy accident. We were seated immediately and our server, Julia, was friendly and helpful. The Gyro Platter with pita bread and tzatiki sauce ($14.95) was delicious. The Kotopoulo Souvalaki ($15.95) was a kabob style dish, chicken breast seasoned with herbs and broiled with fresh peppers, onions and tomatoes. For my taste, there could have been more herbs but it was still very good. Both entrees come with rice or potatoes. On this night there was also an option for green beans which, in my opinion, were over cooked. The rice was very good with a light sauce and a hint of cinnamon. We each had a glass of wine which was reasonably priced. Although there were desserts on the menu there was no room for more food. We can definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good food and wonderful selection of Greek wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We were in town visiting family and were down in the 4th Street area and decided to try Athens on 4th. The food is great and the greeknwine list is amazing! Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the mood for some authentic Greek food!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Greek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The food and service are excellent here. It tastes fresh and homemade. It is well presented and everything tastes delicious. Our server was also very nice and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgrdn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athens On 4th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing