We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Brunch Value in Tucson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fuente - CLOSED

La Fuente
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Brunch Value in Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We "do brunch" frequently in Tucson. Previously, we only brunched at La Fuente on Sundays to enjoy the mariachis and champagne; and, it has become one of our local favorites. This was our first weekday brunch that we tried there and we were pleasantly surprised by the price and variety. La Fuente has always been known for their authentic Mexican and they "lay it out"! One has to wonder how they do it financially, but it is obvious that their traditions put their customers first.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfCje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    96
    39
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Green corn tamales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Friendly staff and delicious green corn tamales. The Mexican food is quite tasty and has the Tucson taste.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DAhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Dined here after reading the reviews on TA and was not disappointed. On our epic family road trip, our group of 18 were seated almost immediately. The atmosphere is one big fiesta, with the colors and the mariachi playing in the back ground. The food was served promptly and was fresh and tasty. Some of the best salsa and chips i ever had, but dont take it from this white guy, my wife and her family are all from Mexico, all 17 of them and no complaints. The hood is a bit sketchy, but there is a security guard and we werent forced by the waiter to write this review. Overall a great time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Took my daughter to La Fuente for her birthday. We were pleasantly surprised by the Mariachi guitarist who sang and interacted with the patrons. The food was fantastic and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Even the owner, Carlos was very attentive and accommodating throughout the night. He even sat down with us and had a very nice long conversation. He was too generous to even buy us a few drinks. I would definitely recommend that everyone should go to this great establishment and have fantastic, authentic Mexican cuisine. Kudos to the staff at La Fuente!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great food, lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a great meal at La Fuente. I had the Camaron a la Fuente which was shrimp simmered in Chipotle sauce with sour cream, pico de gallo salsa, bacon, topped with white cheese; served with rice and beans and was absolutely delicious (check out the photo on the menu online) while my wife had a quesadilla which she also enjoyed. The margaritas were quite good (and we've tried them all over the Southwest) although we did spring for the Cadillac margarita with the better quality tequila.

We were there on one of the nights where there was a mariachi guitar player who knew every song requested of him. We really enjoyed it. And our server, Alfonso, was very helpful and attentive. Other reviewers had mentioned his help before and they were absolutely correct.

La Fuente is located in a formerly nice section of town that is now somewhat down at the heels. But the neighborhood was not that bad. In addition, there is a security guard in the parking lot.

We've been to countless Mexican restaurants across the Southwest and the rest of the country and La Fuente is among the very best we've tried.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing