We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade like”

Caruso's Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 2,003 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Homemade like”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place has a really good homemade flavour. I didn't like the location, but the place is ancient. Has been there for God knows how many years. I really enjoyed the food. Everything I tried was really good. Not the best presentation but it was really good. The dessert was simply ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    89
    35
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Boston's north end meets its match!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were actually planning to eat at a different place and when that didn't pan out we walked along 4th Ave. and ended up at Caruso's. To be honest, we didn't expect much based on the area and the outside of the restaurant. What a wonderful surprise! We ate in the lovely courtyard under a pomegranate tree. It was the perfect spot for a quiet and leisurely dinner. The food was outstanding (we both ordered entrees that included homemade pastas) and our waiter was terrific. He had just the right combination of friendly help without being intrusive. We never would have sought out this restaurant so it was great to stumble upon it and we will be back many times in the future. However, the interior lacks the charm of the courtyard and sadly, they close the courtyard in the winter, so this will be a season spot for us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We took some out of town company here for dinner. The outdoor seating was wonderful. Our waiter was terrific. The food was just ok, I expected more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
“Excellent Old World”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A great experience. I have visited during lunch. The offerings of choices were ample; the food was well prepared & tasty; the service wasa very good; my waitress assured me an excellent lunch experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOldGuy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic Italian”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great classic italian flavors. Not the new hipster, fusion type italian food some restaurants try to force on you.
Definitely recommend the homemade meatballs and sausage. Great ravioli too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBsqrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caruso's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caruso's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing