We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you don't feel like Mexican...go here for a good dinner!”

Kingfisher Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfisher Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 2,005 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Tucson
Description: Kingfisher is an American Grill specializing in fresh Seafood. Menu changes seasonally. Winner of Wine Spectators Award of Excellence. Lunch Dinner, Late night. A local favorite for 14 years running.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When you don't feel like Mexican...go here for a good dinner!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent menu choices particularly seafood. Also great baby back ribs! We had a birthday dinner here. Casual but a bit more upscale than most places we've eaten in Tucson. The trout was fabulous! Ribs were very good . I'd pass on the Hawaiian fish next time. The calamari salad was super! Greens dressed to compliment the squid ans aioli dip. Service was good but we felt rushed by our server to order quickly. She was not the friendliest and did not make us feel very welcome. Topped off with a slice of complimentary birthday pecan pie. Definitely would return to visit this spot next time we are in Tucson despite the waitress......

Helpful?
Thank Blockhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    105
    34
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good seafood and customer service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We called and did take out and were very happy with the food and the service. The order was 100% accurate, including a substituion of mashed potatoes for the french fries. They included napkins and plastic forks and spoons. The order was ready when they said it would be. I had the fish and chips and they were excellent. My husband had the lobster roll and said it was nearly as good as the ones in Maine which is high praise for him.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Where everybody knows your name.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Although it draws folk from all over town and farther, this restaurant is really an upscale neighborhood bar. Kingfisher is the kind of establishment you could stop in every night of the week and although you might imbibe more great food and drink than is good for you, you'd always feel at home. This place is cozy, cozy, cozy and the food is good, good, good. Perhaps wonderful. The staff is charming, the ambiance is welcoming, the food is, again, wonderful. Meet you there tonight?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howdydoothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Good eastside eating”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The restaurant in on East Grant and Tucson Blvd. There is a small lot, as well as some on street parking. The bar is cozy, and seems to be a place people go to meet. The main dining room is well laid out, though perhaps a little loud. Our service was attentive and fast. The wife had the sea bass, and I had the trout. Both were well-prepared, though the trout was not as light as some I have had elsewhere. In the past we have had the pork chili and the lobster roll, both good as well. Prices reasonable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty food, slow service”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food was great and tasted wonderful. The only drawback was that the service was slow due to not enough servers. They had only a few waiters taking orders and once you were seated, you sat for half an hour to place your order. We understood that good food takes a while to prepare but it was quite a while to be served our meals. We overheard another patron complain about the service and the excuse was that they were extremely busy due to the time of year( gem show in town every year at this time) but since it happens every year at the same time, it was not much of an excuse. The food was fantastic, may be we will come back some other time of year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kingfisher Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing