We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Le Rendez-Vous

Le Rendez-Vous
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Rendez-Vous is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #165 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Alvernon
Description: This is the perfect place for an impressive business engagement or a romantic interlude. A distinguished wine Cellar and exquisite desserts promise a memorable dining experience. Now offering a bistro fare lunch.
Tucson
1 review
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Concerned about the recent reviews, I didn't know what to expect. But the service was fine and friendly. The food was also very good, and the Beef Wellington was outstanding. We enjoyed a great meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    28
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The service, the music, the wine list we will back”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Best restaurant in tucson we are very happy, but the small plates and the happy hour is good idea but not for this redtaurant just leave the oldes menu and we be there every frydays we miss the RSVP card.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blacktriztan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
“Horrible!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we have been here many times and have totally enjoyed the experience-- NOT ANYMORE!! It seems like overnight it has become a different restaurant. I think the worst part was the totally ARROGANT,disinterested waiter who could not care less about us as customers in any way {hey buddy, if this place goes out of business, you are out of a job, get it?} Food was mediocre at best, check was screwed up, and puleeze tell me how can a restaurant at ay price point serve COLD coffee?? If you don't believe me please try it for yourself. If i sound angry I am---- When you work hard for your money and get ripped off like this, you tend to get a little ticked off. Take the 100+ bucks you you would have wasted here and give it to your favorite charity--that's money well spent. Never again Le Rendezvous---- Au Revoir-- Oh by the way--- Me thinks the last person to give this place a 5star review on this restaurant MUST be related in some way to an employee, SO obvious-----

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best French Restaurant!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've been to Le Rendez-Vous many times over the last 20 years. It's another Tucson restaurant (along with Vivace) that is always, always superb. The food, the ambiance, the wait staff-all superior. I love Bouillabaisse and Mussels a la Mariniere and Le Rendez-Vous makes the best versions of these dishes. But everything else I've ever had from their menu has always been delicious too. This would be a wonderful place to go for a fine dining experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank trish1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad service doesn't make up for food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ate at Le Rendezvous to celebrate our son's graduation from college, and while the food was fine, the service was terrible from beginning to end. We had eaten there before and had a good experience, but the service was so bad we will never return.

The staff did not welcome us and did not acknowledge our son's graduation, though we had mentioned why we were eating there when we made reservations. The waitress expected us to order wine immediately, and then when we described the wine we had the last time we ate there, all the sommelier (who may be the new owner) said was that they did not have that wine anymore; he did not try to find one that was similar. We also had to track down the waitress to order appetizers. In addition, we had to ask about specials, and we were not told what dishes they were out of; we were only told that they had almost everything on the menu (as it turned out, one of our party ordered something that they did not have).

The wait between appetizers and the entrees was very long. We had ordered the souffle for one of our desserts when we ordered dinner. When we finished dinner, we told the bus boy that we wanted to wait a little while before dessert. Immediately after, the owner slammed down the souffle on our table, startling one of us. Several minutes later, the waitress asked us if we wanted any other desserts; she did not tell us what the creme brulee of the day or the crepe of the day was until we asked.

To further indicate how much it seems that the staff does not care, we emailed them regarding how poor the service was and how disappointed we were. The email went to the owner's father who has passed on the restaurant to his son. The father copied us on an email that he sent to his son asking him to take care of this issue. We have never heard from the son, which indicates that they do not really care.

There are many fine restaurants in Tucson where one can find both good food and good service; there is no need to go to Le Rendezvous (it is ironic that in France they are now trying to improve service and be less rude; a lesson that this restaurant should take to heart).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maf123Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Rendez-Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing