We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to have given it a try - finally!”
Review of Anthony's in the Catalinas - CLOSED

Anthony's in the Catalinas
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Glad to have given it a try - finally!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Always feared it to be a pretentious place and never tried. Finally, for Tucson's 238th birthday on 20AUG, we made it in for dinner. Surprise! The first smiling face we met was right outside the entrance. He guided us inside and to our table - where we were met by other welcoming staff members who made up "Team: 1" (and that they were). Service was attentive and friendly throughout the evening. We were treated to table-side mix & serve Caesar Salad for 2. Followed by Beef Medallions and Rack of Lamb with a bottle of Red Syrah. 1 Chocolate Truffle to split rounded out the dinner menu. We'll definitely be returning...and with friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjt520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    25
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great service!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

the service was excellent, the food was good but not quite fine, the by the glass wine was mediocre.... all in all I was satisfied

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnrickel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time was with Groupon. Had a great time & came back next month”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been to Anthony's twice in the last two months and loved it each time. First time was with a Groupon. It was a great value. Service and food was exceptional. My husband loved the surf and turf. We both love the escargot appetizer and finished our dinner is with the cream Brûlée. Cocktails were also great. We try different restaurants each Friday as our date night out. We had such a good time on our first visit, we decided to come back the next month.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SoSo”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I didn't think i was so great. My husband disagrees. I think it was pretentious, and the food was emulating fine cuisine, but didn't quite make it. The service was good and there was a good bar and wine selection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NanaMyrnaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oracle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Inspite of a few negative reviews I decided to celibrate our 50th at Anthonys based on some trusted friends experiences. I'm glad I did. Yes the offerings are somewhat pricey but well worth it considering preperation, presentation, and timing. The wine list is outstanding. Having done fine dining all over the world, I can easily say Anthony's is right up there with some of the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AhabOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing