We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple O Experience”
Review of Cafe Poca Cosa

Cafe Poca Cosa
Ranked #11 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Fayetteville, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Triple O Experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

What a find this was! I've traveled the world and have sampled a lot of restaurants but now have put this one in my global top 10 list. Service was superb and food was an orgasmic delight. So many flavors...taste buds just went into orbit. There are only 8-10 items on the chalk board menu that change daily. The last one is the chef's choice. What a great concept. After the server goes through all of the items quite expertly you are drooling and want to order all of them. OK...pick three for me chef... surprise me. The green corn tamale was to die for; could have had that for dessert. The mole entree and pollo cooked in a dreamy, creamy chili sauce was incredibly good. The presentation was outstanding. Leafy, tasty greens and vegetables, pinto beans and rice served on the side and freshly made corn tortillas topped off the meal. I just can't say enough about this place. Don't forget to call ahead and make a reservation; place is packed for dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    256
    155
    84
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was fun and tasty.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We entered the restaurant about 2:30 in the afternoon, long after lunch seating was over, but long before dinner. The restaurant was all but devoid of other diners. Due to other reviews on this site, we knew we wanted the chef's choice. We were warned that we would get whatever was left in the kitchen. I would take whatever came out of that kitchen at any time of day and be entirely grateful. Between the 2 plates we had 4 wonderful entrees, 2 different tamale pies and piles of fresh vegetables and fruits presented beautifully. The two of us had enough to feed four. We could not hold dessert. What a shame. Service was attentive. It's a good thing we live 1000 miles away.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We almost gave up trying to find this place - no street numbers outside, tiny sign, looks like an office building. But we were glad we persisted! we didn't have a reservation but they got us in since we obviously tried so hard to get there! All the menu options looked great so we both got "chefs choice" -combo plates of 3 different entrees each so we could taste most of the offerings that night. All were great,the accompanying "salad" is huge and healthy! my favorite was a braised pork, don't exactly remember what the dish entailed but it was juicy and well spiced without overwhelming me delicate palate (I can't handle a lot of chile). Tamale pies were great, mole was good etc etc. Didn't have room for dessert but they looked decadent. The servers are all attentive, well versed in the menu and fun. the chef owner came around to talk to everyone (and is thinking about getting numbers put up outside!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Meal so far!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was the best meal we've had in Tucson. Four of us went tonight, all visiting for the week. Two had the Pollo Mole, and two something else. All food was beautifully presented, freshest vegetables and fruit you can imagine, and perfect flavors. We all tasted each other's food, and all was delicious. The anejo margarita was wonderful and tasted of fine tequila. We all shared one chocolate mousse, as we had no room left for dessert. Highly recommend for a fine, authentic Latin/ Mexican meal, in a friendly, upscale space, downtown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wow! What a secret little treasure!! Excellent meal....excellent service.....romantic atmosphere!! Terrific surprise!!! So glad we found this little restaurant!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Poca Cosa also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Poca Cosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing