We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meal so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Poca Cosa

Cafe Poca Cosa
Ranked #12 of 1,976 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Presidio
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Meal so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was the best meal we've had in Tucson. Four of us went tonight, all visiting for the week. Two had the Pollo Mole, and two something else. All food was beautifully presented, freshest vegetables and fruit you can imagine, and perfect flavors. We all tasted each other's food, and all was delicious. The anejo margarita was wonderful and tasted of fine tequila. We all shared one chocolate mousse, as we had no room left for dessert. Highly recommend for a fine, authentic Latin/ Mexican meal, in a friendly, upscale space, downtown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    251
    151
    80
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wow! What a secret little treasure!! Excellent meal....excellent service.....romantic atmosphere!! Terrific surprise!!! So glad we found this little restaurant!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Got there late, 9:30 or so, got sat right away. A very awesome gal showed us the menu and explained it perfectly. We had a couple of drinks and our mixed plate came. Everything was great as we tasted through each item. Get the mixed plate. She puts a little of everything on it. I can't really remember what was on it, but the menu changes daily. We paid $25 which included salad, tortillas, beans and entree.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zubsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“THE choice for quality gourmet Mexican...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant, located under a parking garage in Downtown Tucson, always delivers. The atmosphere is modern, the restaurant clean, the service outstanding, and the food amazing!

The menu changes daily and is presented on a chalkboard. I recommend the "mystery plate." Each one is different and based on the chef's choice. Trust me, you won't be disappointed! Also, one is plenty big enough to share.

My only knock on this restaurant is that it is a bit spendy (especially the bar), but the quality can't be beat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Tucson!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Café Poca Cosa has an ever changing menu that is so fluid it is only written on a chalk board, which is presented with such detail every dish sounds amazing. .. and they ARE all amazing! ! Listen to everything your waiter tells you about the menu, then order the plata poca cosa, which is a chef's choice of any three menu items - then share!! It's worth every dime! The wine is great, servers are very knowledgeable and food is phenomenal. DO make a reservation though, café poca cosa packs the house! Go on a day your are willing to just endulge and enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank nickisnotgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Poca Cosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing