We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over crowded and noisy with mediocre food”

Blue Willow Restaurant & Gift Shop
Ranked #28 of 1,995 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Known for serving hearty breakfasts, wholesome lunches, and delicious dinners, the Blue Willow is a Tucson tradition. Enjoy year-round patio dining in the lush garden or a casual dinner by the cozy fireplace. Serving loyal customers since 1978, the Blue Willow is proud to offer American classics that comfort and gratify. Order our award winning desserts for any special occasion or just stop by to shop in our unique gift shop.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“over crowded and noisy with mediocre food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went to the Blue Willow on a Sunday afternoon. The Service was efficient but rushed. The room we sat in was extremely noisy with children fussing, yelling and banging utensils on the table...the door to the bathroom gave a loud slam every time someone went in or out. The place was packed at 2:00 p.m. After receiving our drinks I ordered the quiche and the person I was with ordered fruit crepes. The quiche was almost inedible. I think they must have microwaved it because the crust was rubbery and the filling was extremely hot when it arrived. It was accompanied by fruit, such as you would find as garnish at most places, and bread with the consistency of Styrofoam. I also asked for a salad. A very simple and small salad which lacked flavor. I was completely dissatisfied with my food. Sadly, the wait staff was so busy they never asked even after they took my meal away with most of it still on the plate.

On a brighter note my friend's meal looked delicious even if it was better suited for dessert. She liked it well enough. I did not make it a point to complain about the food because I have no intention of going back. The food was sub par, the atmosphere worse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    174
    52
    23
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was cold...”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We tried Blue Willow early evening on a weekday, and it was not crowded at all. Nonetheless, the food was lukewarm at best, and the service mediocre. The good reviews seem to come from the crowded breakfasts, but after our experience we will just have to take those diners words for it as we will not be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivacite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What I most enjoy about Blue Willow is the atmosphere. It's a quaint little place with a cozy, homey vibe. It is easy to have a conversation because your voice isn't lost in the crowd, and most tables aren't located right smack in the middle of a room. It is busy on the weekends, but once you are seated you forget about the wait. We go after 10/11 on weekends and the wait is usually minimal. The decorations are quirky and cute, the gift shop is a nice little touch, and the patio is beautiful.

I have only eaten here for breakfast so I cannot comment on lunch/dinner. The breakfast menu is a bit small, which wouldn't be a bad thing if the dishes were more imaginative. I had french toast with a green corn tamale on the side. The french toast was good, but it was not unlike every other french toast I've made in my own kitchen. There was not nothing creative or "great" about it, which was disappointing because one would expect quirky dishes in a quirky atmosphere. There was no a fresh fruit topping, fruit compote, or well, anything other than two pieces of toast, and a boat of syrup. The tamale was bland, but the homemade salsa was good. My husband had an omelet which he enjoyed. Again, though, nothing out of the ordinary or creative or imaginative. Staff was very friendly, but not over-the-top, which was welcomed.

We bought a few things from the bakery on the way out. The chocolate chip cookie was good, the homemade oreo was delicious.

Overall, this is a good place to go if you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere. I don't know what the Blue Willow used to have on it's menu, but sadly its breakfast fare is no longer creative or different. I wish they would think outside the box a little more. You will enjoy the food, but you won't rave about it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Blue Willow Restaurant”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well located, decent parking. Casual atmosphere, food good with a lot of variety. Service good. Prices reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank karlfriedmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimberley tx
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great breakfast, atmosphere, and gift shop. Has outdoors inside in one of the rooms. Very good for people with kids. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hudsononthecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Willow Restaurant & Gift Shop also viewed

 

Been to Blue Willow Restaurant & Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing