We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ask for the beef ribs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Li'l Abner's Steakhouse

Li'l Abner's Steakhouse
Ranked #273 of 1,971 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $13 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just ask for the beef ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have visited Lil Abners for years just because of the beef ribs. Don't bother with anything else unless you are really not hungry! A massive serving of very tasty BEEF ribs with a potato,beans and salad. These ribs spoil you for any other (usually pork) ribs you are likely to have anywhere else.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    34
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
680 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Very cool. Reminds me of Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Cool BBQ place just outside of Tucson near marana little hard to find if you use your gps. Menu not printed. It is verbal. I got the pork ribs. Nice place.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good rustic place for steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a great time eating at Li'l Abners this week. Went on a Weds. night, and it was not crowded at all - I can see where this place would be a lot of fun on the weekends, especially with live music. Took our kids and really liked our filets and t-bones. I would agree with other reviews that it's a bit costly for what it is, but we thought it was a fun place with good food. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive to our family. Enjoyed it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kellost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
147 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is a keeper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Desk clerk at the local Best Western pointed us here, and she was right!. The entrees (steak, chicken or ribs) are done outside over an open grill. Meals include family style bowl of beans, baked potato is extra and worth it. The chicken was absolutely outstanding. Barbeque sauce is piquant and zesty, nice. Not too sweet, not too hot, it was a nice complement to a nice moist and perfectly cooked entree. The only shortcoming is not having a menu to actually look at (I agree with azteco111) which is probably ok for the local regulars (and there must be plenty because it was pretty full restaurant) who know which of the great choices are already their favorites, but for us tourists, it does result in asking for it all to be repeated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Didn't get the point of no menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I didn't get a menu. I asked for one and they said that it was a spoken menu. I didn't get the point. By the time she got to the end of the list I had forgotten what she started with. Sorry, I like to read menus and decide what I want based on sound and cost. Maybe if they do not want to print menus they can have some posted on the walls. The steak and bread were very good. The beans were not very tasty as well as the salsa. The salsa was from a can I think. Too bad they can make a really good salsa on the grill with tomatoes and some hot peppers. Not too much work.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank azteco111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Li'l Abner's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing