We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yummy sushi in the desert” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Cortaro

Sushi Cortaro
Ranked #386 of 1,908 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ate at Sushi Cortaro for the third time on this past weekend and again were delighted with the meal. The sashimi "bridge" presentation was fun and tuna/salmon/yellowtail/albacore delicious. It comes with a Dragon Roll, salad and miso. My husband ordered seaweed salad and another roll and between all these we had a feast. My sister, who doesn't eat sushi, enjoyed the tempura and chicken yakitori. The location in a strip mall is unexceptional, but the food has been fresh and really good. A real treat for those on the NW side of Tucson, near Marana! Carryout is an option too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre food at best, horrible service... Did I go to the same restaurant as the other reviewers?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Th only 2 good things about this restaurant were its proximity to the Omni Golf Resort, and the presentation of the food. However, the ingredients used were sub par and the service was atrocious. I seriously qustion if the two servers waiting on us were under the influence of something...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rthomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bynum, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent sushi restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This apparently family-owned restaurant offers lunch and dinner, and it specializes in the "new style" sushi - paper on the inside. Their food is excellent, although the menu is limited to the more common types (no blowfish). They have achieved the perfect middle ground between the "sushi buffet" style and the high-end connoisseur sushi restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cowboyMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been eating here since it opened. The food and service are consistently excellent. The fish is always fresh, the salmon always has that buttery delicious texture (that's a good thing for me). One of the top two sushi restaurants in Tucson. Yes I know Tucson and sushi aren't a seemingly good combination but having had sushi all over Ca and HI, I know a good place

Helpful?
Thank mgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have tried many different sushi restaurants in town but once I discovered Sushi Cortaro I will not go anywhere else. Best food, best atmosphere and best service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Cortaro also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Cortaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing