We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy sushi in the desert”
Review of Sushi Cortaro

Sushi Cortaro
Ranked #375 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yummy sushi in the desert”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We ate at Sushi Cortaro for the third time on this past weekend and again were delighted with the meal. The sashimi "bridge" presentation was fun and tuna/salmon/yellowtail/albacore delicious. It comes with a Dragon Roll, salad and miso. My husband ordered seaweed salad and another roll and between all these we had a feast. My sister, who doesn't eat sushi, enjoyed the tempura and chicken yakitori. The location in a strip mall is unexceptional, but the food has been fresh and really good. A real treat for those on the NW side of Tucson, near Marana! Carryout is an option too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre food at best, horrible service... Did I go to the same restaurant as the other reviewers?”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Th only 2 good things about this restaurant were its proximity to the Omni Golf Resort, and the presentation of the food. However, the ingredients used were sub par and the service was atrocious. I seriously qustion if the two servers waiting on us were under the influence of something...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rthomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bynum, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another excellent sushi restaurant!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This apparently family-owned restaurant offers lunch and dinner, and it specializes in the "new style" sushi - paper on the inside. Their food is excellent, although the menu is limited to the more common types (no blowfish). They have achieved the perfect middle ground between the "sushi buffet" style and the high-end connoisseur sushi restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cowboyMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, friendly service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been eating here since it opened. The food and service are consistently excellent. The fish is always fresh, the salmon always has that buttery delicious texture (that's a good thing for me). One of the top two sushi restaurants in Tucson. Yes I know Tucson and sushi aren't a seemingly good combination but having had sushi all over Ca and HI, I know a good place

Helpful?
Thank mgrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have tried many different sushi restaurants in town but once I discovered Sushi Cortaro I will not go anywhere else. Best food, best atmosphere and best service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Cortaro also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Cortaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing