We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy 8 Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Economy Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Econo Lodge(Tucson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regal Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
4
10
3
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
10
3
6
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 30 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were in Tucson on business for one week. My fiance had stayed here previously however the owners were new. We were given only two towels...had no hot water...our tv did not work and we did not have a blanket. They have an AAA sign up there is NO way this is current.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed for 5 days here during the Tucson Gem and Mineral Show. I needed a kitchenette due to food allergies. I absolutely loved the room, it was more of an apartment. It even had a dining room with a table for 6. The carpet was a little old and dirty, the kitchen had new tile and was spotless and the rest of the rooms were fairly clean. It is an older hotel so does have some issues associated with age. For the price during the busiest season it was a total bargain. The tv reception is terrible and the traffic is very close and loud but your room opens up to a courtyard with a pool, not a parking lot. The staff is fabulous! Maria is an absolute doll. She and her family run this place like it is their own home and make you feel like you are a part of the family. I will stay every year for the Mineral show. Thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, some are worse than others.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at the Lazy8 motel in Tucson for 4 nights in May 2009 to kick off a Southwest USA sightseeing tour. We live in Germany and planned the trip ahead of time on the internet and found this motel on Google. One on of the main criteria for us was to get a budget motel that's clean and has free breakfast and internet access. We were greeted friendly after a late arrival from Germany. The room was on the ground floor with direct parking in front of it. We had a clean king size bed, the carpets were clean, the furniture practical and in good condition, the bathroom was big and very clean. Our room had a large size LCD TV screen mounted to the wall with full cable access. There was a phone with free local calls, a good sized refrigerator and of course free WIFI internet access that worked flawlessly. The breakfast was sufficient with a choice of home made Mexican burritos, toast, donuts, jelly, cereal, milk and coffee. It had everything we would normally eat for breakfast at home. For a little less than 50$ a night you get a great, clean place to sleep and start the day off right. We even used the pool one afternoon and the pool facility was clean and in good order. We would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VDB-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I have stayed at the Lazy 8 at least once a year for many years. In the past I would have always agreed with their slogan, Tucson’s Cleanest Budget Motel. However, I now find slogan to be somewhat less that completely accurate.

The grounds are littered with paper debris and cigarette butts, the paint was peeling in the bathroom, the carpet was tattered and there was only one electrical outlet in the entire room. While the place is not actually dirty, It’s just not up to par with past years.

I might return, but would also look at other lodging options prior to booking a stay at his past trusted hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gnomeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

The Lazy 8 advertises as "Tucson's Cleanest Budget Motel." The trouble is, cleanliness will not make up for the fact that the motel needs plenty of maintenance to improve the comfort of guests. Here are some of the problems we encountered:

1. The sweep at the bottom of the door was missing, which must be very drafty in colder weather and let in a lot of noise. We're talking non-stop traffic from the access road and I-10 plus the occasional horn from nearby freight trains.

2. One of the two wall lamps by the bed was missing the bolt at the bottom, so the post and lyre holding the shade wobbled around; the bulb could have melted the shade if we hadn't noticed and kept it off. Also, the lamps were both on the same side of the bed, so someone on the other side had no lamp to read with.

3. The hanging lamp over the table had 2 of 5 bulbs burned out.

4. The bed appeared to be a non-standard size slightly smaller than a queen. As a result, the bottom sheet could not be tucked in enough to secure it and it came loose during the night.

5. The headboard is held to the wall by two brackets that insert into grooves in the board. Apparently, the maid knocked it off the wall while making up the bed and was unable to get it back up again by herself, so she left it tucked between the bed and the wall.

6. The water pressure was variable and just about non-existent when I tried to take a shower one of the two mornings we were there.

7. The shower curtain rod sagged, which caused the ends of the curtain to slide toward the middle, making it hard to take a shower without water leaking on the floor.

8. The toilet paper holder was loose on the wall, and the spindle was missing.

9. The phone book was nearly two years old, a minor inconvenience, but one that can be rectified by the management for free by calling the local phone company.

We enjoy finding good budget accommodations and were rooting for this one to be as good a value as others we have encountered over the years (such as the Monterey Non-Smokers Motel in Albuquerque, a favorite)-- but there's only so much we are willing to put up with in the name of saving a buck and supporting independent business people. I suppose we could have asked for another room, but we felt that the switch would probably mean a whole host of new problems.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MitchHellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews