We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Inn
Nearby Hotels
$87
$81
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$90
Aloft.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$124
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$62
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Lodge and Casitas(Tucson)(Great Value!)
$71
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$109
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$120
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
13
23
12
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
23
12
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastroom was cleantucson areastay there againcerealaz
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 64 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our third year staying at the Catalina Inn. Rooms are beautiful, breakfasts are wonderful and conversation with the proprietors, Mark and Paul, is always enjoyable. It's kind of a home away from home for us when we visit the December 4th Avenue Street Fair. Central Tucson location, gracious hosts and sweetly comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Favorite room is upstairs, west side. Nice balcony off the room over the desert gardens. Sit out there in the morning, drinking coffee, watching the birds welcome the sun, and in the evening, a nice beer or glass of wine and watch the sunset over the Tucson mountains.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After staying here for the Tucson Marathon, I felt it was necessary to write a review. This place is on par for a basic motel, but has loads of extras. Free breakfast...not Continental and free wi-fi, which the big hotels charge big bucks for it. The room had an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge (which wasn't stuffed with things to purchase) you could actually use, and a microwave. Bed was comfortable and there were many little sitting areas out near the parking lot. Small pool but since it is December, didn't try it out ;). The view from the hotel was spectacular of the nearby mountain range.

Drawbacks would be the thin walls. We did hear people walking above and toilets flush. Fortunately most everyone there this weekend were there for the race, so no loud hank-panky. Pillows were very small and seemed to have seen better days.

The hotel worked with the marathon staff so they were on the shuttle line. If we do the marathon again, we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry H, General Manager at Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

On behalf of the Catalina Inn staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Tucson. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The rooms were a great value. We had 4 rooms all close to each other (as we had requested) which was really nice that they really paid attention to our request to be near each other. The continental breakfast was so deluxe! They had so many choices even for our kids who can be picky eaters. Great service too! Thank you!! We were there for a race and it was close to the race for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renorands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

When I read that this hotel was in the Catalina Foothills, I thought that meant northern Tucson/south side of the Catalinas. Instead, it is on the north side of the Catalinas, at least 10 miles north of where I thought it would be. My bad for not looking more closely at a map. I wouldn't even call this "Tucson." It's north of Tucson, north of Oracle, in a blink-and-you'll-miss-it burb called Catalina. It's relatively convenient to Catalina State Park, but horribly out of the way for just about everything else the area has to offer (unless you're among the few who find Biosphere 2 interesting). The room itself was fine--it was clean, the bed was comfortable enough. But the property's east/west orientation can't take advantage of the mountain views to the southeast. If you have the bad luck of having a room on the west side of the property, enjoy the view of the storage facility next door. Another huge disadvantage of the boondocks-esque location is an appalling lack of restaurants. The Italian place that the hotel clerk recommended was out because I didn't see anything appealing on its menu that didn't have gluten in it. There's a McDonald's, a BBQ place, and a couple of Mexican restaurants. While the rates for this Best Western are considerably lower than its in-town sisters, just under $100 (including tax) is a ridiculously high price for a hotel with so little to recommend it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a room on the east side/front of the hotel. If that is not an option and they put you on the west side, at least get a 2nd floor room. That way you can look over the roof of the storage facility, beyond the RV park (or whatever it is) and see some lumpy looking hills in the distance.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank momsroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We were spending the week up in Sedona, but decided to stay overnight in Tuscon to see it thoroughly. This hotel is north of Tuscon, which seemed like a nicer area than in town. There
is one of most every restaurant you would want within 3 miles. (except Panera bread, oddly).

Since we were there only 1 night, I cannot speak to any of the amenities - our room was fine and roomy - did not notice any noise, but then how many people were there in the middle of January?!

So--no complaints.

Room Tip: no elevator - so get a first floor room if stairs are an issue
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensquirkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews