We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad they don't deliver what's described on the menu” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Veza's Taco Garage - CLOSED

Sir Veza's Taco Garage
Cuisines: American, Bar, Mexican, Southwestern, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Too bad they don't deliver what's described on the menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to lunch with a group from work to celebrate bosses day. Three of us ordered the same salad the new Chopped Margarita, which we were assured would be sizeable and plenty to eat. After an extended wait for our entree's two of the three salads were not delivered as ordered, dressing on the side. Only one was returned to be remade, which took another 20 minutes, so most everyone was finished eating. After looking at the salad which was more of a "side salad" than an entrée, it was apparent that there was very little salmon on it, and the black beans, Queso cheese, corn and tomatoes were all missing. Given the $10.95 charge for this salad, what arrived certainly wasn't worth the price. Since everyone else was ready to go I didn't get to eat lunch. The manager apologized and "comped" all of the salads, but the fact remains the kitchen obviously doesn't know what it's doing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really somewhat disappointed in the food on our last visit to Sir Veza's. The first time the food was outstanding (all of it). This time the rice was great, but the entrees were 'just eh' - really nothing special. It was a bit embarrassing as we went with family visiting from Spain and had raved about the place. I will give these guys another try since they were so good last time - perhaps they were just having an off day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yep, it was the best meal we had in Tucson and much better than the El Charro that everyone raves about.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GWHayduke2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“On the fence”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was my second visit here. They have great drink specials and I have found the food to be very good. The only thing that has put me on the fence is what happened after our last visit. ik am not claiming that what they had to eat caused the problem, but the only 2 people at our table of 5 who had the black beans at lunch both ended up having extended visits to room with the bath.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiflya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Highlight Of My Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

if you love great Mexican food that's authentic and delicious, this is the place. The atmosphere is laid back and the servers are great. My guest and I had an appetizer that looked like a pizza, served on toasted flatbread and topped with white cheese. amazing taste. We split an order of the brisket style tacos with a thicker side of refried beans and rice. The whole meal was amazing.

We topped off the meal with a couple of beers and a margarita and the entire bill was less than $30, tip not included.

The restaurant offers a covered, open air style bar. The food is great and the atmosphere is laid back. You will LOVE this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaTalkinghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Veza's Taco Garage also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing