We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucious Lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parish

The Parish
Ranked #44 of 1,971 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Cajun & Creole, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lucious Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Tucson newspaper reviewed this restaurant several months ago and we finally made plans this week to give it a try. Reviews on several sites were mixed, but we went in with high hopes and looking forward to hush puppies. They were wonderful!!! Came 5 to the plate with gumbo. I'm not an AZ native, but am comfortable with pretty spicy Mexican food, and this gumbo was almost off my chart. The individual sausage spice was expected, but the general heat of the gumbo was nothing like anything we've eaten in Louisianna! Tasty but not authentic.
Bread pudding dessert was fabulous. Sweet tea tasty.
We'll go again, and though we probably won't order the gumbo, we look forward to trying other items. . . . . and having more hush puppies!
Decor not classy., but the food is good and that's what we went for!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tucsonk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    74
    18
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Parish is a small bar and bistro with a small but excellent Cajun influenced menu in addition to daily specials. The food is casual, but created from top shelf ingredients and cooked with unusual flair and seasonings. Almost everything on the menu is $10 or less. They also make fresh infusions which are used to create delicious house specialty cocktails that are well worth their premium prices (Dutch Wellwater, based on gin with lavender and citrus, is my favorite). This place is a real treat! Come in before 10 pm if you are there for a meal, as the menu is reduced to appetizers until closing.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al_Bnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Parish Burger stands alone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a serious $10 burger. The beef was excellent and juicy, and cooked to perfection. The bacon was smoky and good. Ahhhhh bacon! Sacre Bleu- the cheese was fantastic. Accompanied by a big pickle spear and a side salad made for a great lunch. The service was top notch, and it was a very positive experience overall. Color me impressed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tucson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
186 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cajun in Tucson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

One thing you don't find too often in the desert is a good oyster po'boy sandwich but I found it at this pub. Food is great. Tried the gumbo too and a regular burger and they were both very tasty...Nice beer selection and good service made it a fun outing. Have been back again too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GandGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mother's day special was special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stopped by on a fluke for mother’s day for which they had a special menu. My wife and I had a marvelous dinner. The steak had been marinated for days and cooked to perfection. Even the small details were attractive and delicious. The chief obviously had fun with these dishes. I cannot speak for the regular menu, but the food we had there was truly exceptional.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PuaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Parish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing