We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frontier Motel
Ranked #103 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I and my family had went out to Tucson because we had a family emergency. ..Little did I know it was going to be an overnight stay. I had to get a hotel for the night and choose to go with this one. Seemed quite where we could get rest overnight. I checked in the office, smelled of dirty clothes! I knew it was a bad sign but we were exhausted so I booked it. Gentleman in front did not know too much English. After sorting things out we got the Key. Went to the room and first smell was as if a cat was rotting!Found the light switch and floor was very dirty, no vacuumed in days it seemed. The beds looked decent....pulled up blankets to check for bugs, no bugs but stains everywhere! Red stains, yellow stains...yuk! Yellow dirty pillows underneath clean white cases. There was an earring on the night stand...don't know if it was a hookers? 4 bibles in the room with dust. Bathroom was in terrible condition with leaks and dirty towels. The only thing that was okay is the swamp cooler, blew cold. Let's just say we did not sleep that night. Miserable place. Pool was green also, not that we were gonna swim. Do not stay waste of money/time. Surprised this place is still running.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
2
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yourtown
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great historic property! Tucson is what it is, an OLD western town, and this property represents just that. For the age of the buildings, they are well kept enough to get your $30-35 a night stay. However old, they room are clean and everything worked just fine. Satelite TV and free Wi-Fi bring us back to the 21st century. The pool is very nice and very clean! I like how it tucked way in the back, away from looky-lous and gawkers. The parking is cool in that they have covered parking! What national chain provides that? Some guests can even park right in front on the door. The staff and owners are good people. When I checked in, they immediately upgraded me to the king room with a kitchenette! The customer service is great, and the owners walk the premises occasionaly to provide added extra security. Thank you Frontier Motel, I had A Great Stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
Dear DDSumo. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you
enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live locally in Tucson but were having some remodeling done on our bathroom, we had NO SHOWER at home, so decided to rent a room to take a shower. I called the office and the gentlemen was very nice, HOWEVER we were gave a room that HAD BEEN USED, AND WAS NOT CLEAN!!!! The beds were all messed up, the sink was dirty, and the shower was disgusting!!!! I was afraid to touch anything!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the staff was welcoming. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. This has been communicated to housekeeping. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at Frontier Motel for a week last March. It has tile roofs and stucco design, and while the rooms were not remodeled, they are honest and the price is cheap. I loved it. I had a view of the mountains and the location is good as well. In fact, for part of the week a film crew was there, filming a movie. Imagine visiting Tucson in the fifties... here you are. But do not expect plush and expensive, go elsewhere for that.

Room Tip: choose a room that faces East, the sun warms you the minute you step out the door, even in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
Dear Blue Potter. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.0 mi away
Copper Cactus Inn
Copper Cactus Inn
#101 of 128 in Tucson
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quail Inn Motel
Quail Inn Motel
#93 of 128 in Tucson
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
University Inn Tucson
University Inn Tucson
#53 of 128 in Tucson
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#39 of 48 in Tucson
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Flamingo
Quality Inn Flamingo
#88 of 128 in Tucson
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amazon Motel
Amazon Motel
#96 of 128 in Tucson
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Motel

Property: Frontier Motel
Address: 227 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out to enjoy the western setting of The Frontier Motel, a delightful character motel with quiet surroundings, easily accessible units, generously sized, and well appointed with adjacent parking. Our setting is idyllic, in the heart of the city yet situated in a western-like setting, a peaceful haven to relax or plan your day's activities. The cleanliness and presentation of our units is assured. We offer super-king or queen-size beds, kitchen facilities in all units, wireless internet, and etc. The Frontier Motel offers cozy Tucson lodging accommodations and gracious amenities at an extraordinary value. You'll appreciate the motel deals at our downtown Tucson motel as we are located conveniently in the heart of the city and just minutes from the University of Arizona. We've recently undergone renovations with the goal of ensuring your complete comfort. Whether you are looking for hotels near University of Arizona or simply looking for a comfortable stay at a great value you'll find that our Tucson hotel can accommodate your needs and your wallet. If you are planning a leisure visit to our wonderful city you'll be happy to know that there are plenty of things to do in Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing