We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Great Stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frontier Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Frontier Motel to your Saves list
Frontier Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   227 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
yourtown
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great historic property! Tucson is what it is, an OLD western town, and this property represents just that. For the age of the buildings, they are well kept enough to get your $30-35 a night stay. However old, they room are clean and everything worked just fine. Satelite TV and free Wi-Fi bring us back to the 21st century. The pool is very nice and very clean! I like how it tucked way in the back, away from looky-lous and gawkers. The parking is cool in that they have covered parking! What national chain provides that? Some guests can even park right in front on the door. The staff and owners are good people. When I checked in, they immediately upgraded me to the king room with a kitchenette! The customer service is great, and the owners walk the premises occasionaly to provide added extra security. Thank you Frontier Motel, I had A Great Stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddsumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
Dear DDSumo. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you
enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
2
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live locally in Tucson but were having some remodeling done on our bathroom, we had NO SHOWER at home, so decided to rent a room to take a shower. I called the office and the gentlemen was very nice, HOWEVER we were gave a room that HAD BEEN USED, AND WAS NOT CLEAN!!!! The beds were all messed up, the sink was dirty, and the shower was disgusting!!!! I was afraid to touch anything!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the staff was welcoming. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room. This has been communicated to housekeeping. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at Frontier Motel for a week last March. It has tile roofs and stucco design, and while the rooms were not remodeled, they are honest and the price is cheap. I loved it. I had a view of the mountains and the location is good as well. In fact, for part of the week a film crew was there, filming a movie. Imagine visiting Tucson in the fifties... here you are. But do not expect plush and expensive, go elsewhere for that.

Room Tip: choose a room that faces East, the sun warms you the minute you step out the door, even in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry P, Manager at Frontier Motel, responded to this review, February 15, 2016
Dear Blue Potter. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Quail Inn Motel
#95 of 130 in Tucson
3.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.5 mi away
University Inn Tucson
University Inn Tucson
#62 of 130 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#99 of 130 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Flamingo
Quality Inn Flamingo
#78 of 130 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Limited Tucson West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frontier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Motel

Property: Frontier Motel
Address: 227 West Drachman Street, Tucson, AZ 85705
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Frontier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take time out to enjoy the western setting of The Frontier Motel, a delightful character motel with quiet surroundings, easily accessible units, generously sized, and well appointed with adjacent parking. Our setting is idyllic, in the heart of the city yet situated in a western-like setting, a peaceful haven to relax or plan your day's activities. The cleanliness and presentation of our units is assured. We offer super-king or queen-size beds, kitchen facilities in all units, wireless internet, and etc. The Frontier Motel offers cozy Tucson lodging accommodations and gracious amenities at an extraordinary value. You'll appreciate the motel deals at our downtown Tucson motel as we are located conveniently in the heart of the city and just minutes from the University of Arizona. We've recently undergone renovations with the goal of ensuring your complete comfort. Whether you are looking for hotels near University of Arizona or simply looking for a comfortable stay at a great value you'll find that our Tucson hotel can accommodate your needs and your wallet. If you are planning a leisure visit to our wonderful city you'll be happy to know that there are plenty of things to do in Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Frontier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing