We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sushi Could Not Match Amazing Service and Atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bushi Traditional Japanese and Asian Cuisine - CLOSED

Bushi Traditional Japanese and Asian Cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
415 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Sushi Could Not Match Amazing Service and Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Strangely, I loved everything about this establishment except the sushi. The atmosphere and vibe were open and inviting. The restaurant clean and airy. The service was pleasant and leisurely-paced. I love it that here in Tucson miso soup and edamame often come with the meal, as opposed to having to pay extra. Both the miso and the edamame were tasty - and we arrived for Happy Hour - so both the sushi and sake were very reasonably priced. Sadly, the sushi was just mediocre. I'm not sure I can put my finger on why - I just know that this area has serious sushi competition, and I expected to be amazed. I was only sad, however, since everything was so perfect here, aside from the main reason I stopped in: the sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

it is closed now. now sushi place. We were so sad as we loved it and we felt so sad that they had not done that well and also crowded out by we suspect the rich Chinese, Hibachi buffet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
990 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“A great surprise, delicious food hidden in banal decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We love Japanese food therefore we are a bit difficult. My husband had discovered this hidden gem on a visit 2 month before and wanted to take me too. Both times were perfect. Attentive service and very good food, especially warm entrees. We took non connoisseur and they liked it too since it proposes a menu beyond the typical sushi-sashimi. Bulgogi (marinated beef on a hot plate) and Hamachi Kama (yellowtail) were our favorites.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love their chicken katsu~!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Had lunch,only $6.99 for chicken katsu~!! It's so crispy on the outside tender inside~!! So yummy~!! I love the soup too~!! 

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zzzlynnzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“JUST OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Not the worst, but not the best. Miso soup too salty, some really weird sushi ingredients--decent tempura. Would not go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing