We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly a surprise”
Review of Curry Leaf

Curry Leaf
Ranked #310 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Curry Leaf Indian Restaurant is a family owned restaurant since 2005 that focuses on South Indian food such as Dosa, Idli Sambar, Biriyanis, Curries but also have other North Indian specialties such as Naan, Paalak Paneer, Aloo Gobi, and many other dishes like Tikka Masala, and Kormas. Our lunch specials start from only $5, and dinner entrees start at just $8 and range to $14.
Restaurant details
Description: Curry Leaf Indian Restaurant is a family owned restaurant since 2005 that focuses on South Indian food such as Dosa, Idli Sambar, Biriyanis, Curries but also have other North Indian specialties such as Naan, Paalak Paneer, Aloo Gobi, and many other dishes like Tikka Masala, and Kormas. Our lunch specials start from only $5, and dinner entrees start at just $8 and range to $14.
Cleveland Heights
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Certainly a surprise”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We tried this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised. Not a lot of atmosphere, not a large place, not a great location, but the food and the service was good and at a good price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10sJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    24
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bland but expensive food & drab ambiance”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Tried Curry Leaf instead of our usual Sher-e-Panjab (located just 5 min Drive west) for a change + availability of Dosas (which are not offered at Sher). Terribly regret the decision.

Food was very bland (we ordered medium spicy-which we usually order at Sher), half the portion size AND more expensive than Sher-e-Panjab!!!

Ordered for take out. So couldn't really experience the service or the ambiance per se. But, even for the short while stepping into pick up the food, saw that their ambiance was drab, dated and dark- not at all inviting. The short but service at the cashier though, was ok and polite.

Not going back nor recommend anyone else. Sher-e-panjab will give you much, much better taste + value (not the buffet though) for good Indian food. And if you want better ambiance too, try Saffron Bistro up north.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShamiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

While on a shopping trip to Tucson my wife and I happened on a small Indian restaurant called the Curry Leaf. What a surprise, it wasn’t much on decor, but the service was good and the food was superb. We had the vegetable thali with palik paneer, it was the best I’ve ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoita, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stopped in for lunch over the weekend. Had 3 different spicy lunch specials. All were good, portions were fine, service was great. Not a fancy place, no "atmosphere", but that wasn't what we were looking for. Good value, good food & good service. Enjoyed it very much!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Best Indian Food I've Had in AGES!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Really excellent Indian food, so delicious! I had Onion Pakora and Masala Dosa. YUM!!! Service was very attentive. The food was beautifully prepared and not overly salty unlike many restaurant meals today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Curry Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing