We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for good Mexican? Go here!”

El Saguarito Mexican
Ranked #258 of 1,977 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Pike,NH
1 review
“Looking for good Mexican? Go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We just went here and had a wonderful meal. The food was fresh, service great and the owner came over and took us about the food and margaritas. They have nightly music and we were there on the Mexican night. Prices also reasonable. A must go place. Would have given it 10 stars if it was possible!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We dined here just days ago and had an excellent experience. The service was superb and the food was ever so tasty. We watched the tortillas being made and ours were definitely fresh off the stove. I liked the fact that several options were offered for sides besides the traditional rice and refried beans. We tried the zucchini casserole and loved it. Will definitely return on our next visit to Tucson.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Acart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, UT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Drive through, but not fast food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were a little put off when we pulled up to the place and saw the drive though for take-out, but we had a Groupon coupon so we went in. And we’re glad we did. The place is small and popular so get there early or be prepared to wait. It’s worth it though. We sampled the combination plates. I had a great chili relleno, tamale and barbacoa taco. We’ll definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor_Pi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The Best Margaritas and Intimate Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We dined here the end of December, using a Groupon as an introduction. We are planning to return as we really enjoyed this small and intimate place. The service was great and everyone so friendly. Albert Jr. met us at the door and soon we met his father, Albert Sr., the owner.
We ordered the chicken enchalidas and they were served just the way we like them. We ordered the regular beans instead of the pinto "healthy" beans, but these beans were great! Not the funny greyish brown color but a warm brown and tasted so good. We really enjoyed the chips and salsa. The salsa had a zip to it and the chips fresh and crisp. These came warm and toasty, unlike other restaurants.
We have to say we had the best margaritas in town, or so we felt! We would drive across town for one any time.
The patio was open and a bit chilly to sit out there, but it looked attractive and even had a guitarist playing live music. However, the inside is very intimate and colorful and decorated almost like a home. It 's a good place for couples and friends when they are in town to visit.
Try this little restaurant for the food, service and ambiance!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
673 reviews
512 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Overall--Mediocre to average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Was highly recommended--so finely had a chance to visit after game time.
Ambience was cozy--We loved the presentation of the patio, but was too
chilly outside to participate. Service was great, and very friendly.
But began becoming disappointed with the arrival of our cheese crisp--
very decorative but soggy and bland. Beef tacos were good but have had much better in many other locations. Margaritas were also good , but also have had much better. No question that in a city like Tucson, competition with a variety
of mexican cuisine is ferocious!
Will be back some day for the patio--not soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Saguarito Mexican also viewed

 

Been to El Saguarito Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing