We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucson, AZ 2009”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #56 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2009

nice, clean, restful; would have preferred a patio but they were very limited; would go back. Bar staff is superb! Made a good friend in Amanda :)

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FreakyKitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

We arrived in Tucson two days earlier than exchange date just to have more time. Called around 10 AM day we were to check in and they said "come on over we are expecting you"! that was a nice touch. We had a great room..comfy bed..lots of room and very clean.
Entire staff seemed really glad to see you and assist with anything. When I had trouble with my wireless internet they reset their router to try to help. Turned out to be my computer anyway. Pool is very nice, bar and grill was very good and reasonable. We would like to have stayed longer at this location but will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovintraveltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

This half-hotel, half-timeshare is located a few miles east of the University of Arizona on one of the main streets in Tucson. It is located near many stores and restaurants, but it is not in the best part of town. The hotel's exterior seems fairly new, but it did not carry over to the inside. The room was large (suite) and included a kitchenette. It was clean, but it looks like it hasn't been updated since 1980. Blue and yellow walls. Green carpet. Blue counters in the kitchen. Yikes! The king size bed was hard as a rock and was about 1 foot off the floor. The windows looked fairly new, but I could hear everything that was going on outside (I was on the 3rd floor), so I didn't get much sleep. Bathroom was clean and was a decent size. The pool was nice and was open late. Front desk personnel were great and answered all of our questions about the hotel and the surrounding area. Not the worst hotel I've ever been in, but there has to be nicer ones in Tucson!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muhawk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed at the VCA-Tucson chapter as an exchange for our timeshare, and it was truly the most disappointing experience we've ever had on a vacation. I would NOT recommend it for a timeshare exchange OR to stay there overnight as a hotel. The property is located in a very "seedy" area, with many individuals just "hanging" around the front of the property by the bus stop. It's on an incrediby busy street - you can hear the street from all rooms. There is no security to speak of. We were in a one bedroom unit that was advertised as 1200 square feet - you would think plenty of room for four, right? When we entered our room, it was barely 800 sq. feet. Apparently the advertisement was for their two bedroom unit, and management wouldn't upgrade us to the larger unit unless we paid $400 more! If the hotel/location had been worth it, we would have, but it wasn't. Multiple items didn't work in our room, like the air conditioning and the iron. When we told them about the air conditioning, they told us they thought it worked just fine! They weren't even willing to switch us to a fully operating room until we complained multiple times! The restaurant/lounge was never open, it was overpriced and had only one server. We chose to eat off site...After two days, we had had enough and called our own timeshare property and asked for their help. They, too, could not get any assistance from the VCA-Tucson chapter hotel. No accommodation. So, we left... we "exchanged" to another property in Phoenix - the Marriot Canyon Villas. Trust me, you'll like these much better. It's absolute luxury. My review: absolutely terrible, and I would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dseeko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We had a great stay at this hotel. It was on a busy street, but it was in the 90s so we had airconditioner on most of the time. We were lucky to get a west room with a balcony and enjoyed having a drink and watching the sun set. Very nice accomodations. Bed a little hard. Unit every clean and all employees very helpful. We got in to Tucson around 10:30AM, and they were able to get us into our unit by 1PM. Restaurant very nice and good food. Pool perfect with enough shade for me and lots of sun for my husband. Free internet usage was great since I did not want to bring my computer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bunkofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Varsity Club. This place is really an interveral vacation club that rents its units as available. I wouldn't really classify it as a hotel.

We arrived very late at night and had a little difficulty getting in. The floors in the lobby were just waxed so someone let us in the rear entrance. No big deal since that's were we would have parked anyway. The unit was plenty large for a party of 4 adults. Upon entry there was a small kitchen with full sized refridgerator, large counter top toaster oven with griddle, microwave, cooktop, and sink with a variety of cabinents, drawers, counter space, etc. There were plenty of dishes, cookware, and other standard kitchen items. There was a dining table with 4 chairs. In the same room was a sofa, chair, coffee table, end table, and TV on a stand with drawers.

Off the living area was a door onto a small balcony with 2 chairs and a table. That patio also had a door leading to the 2nd bedroom. On either side of the living room/kitchen were identical bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs.

The master bedroom was large and had a king size bed, large closet, tv, and drawers for storage. The french doors lead to a large covered balcony with a table and 4 chairs.

The 2nd bedroom was not quite as large but did have a large closet, tv, and drawers. It also had a king size bed but because the room was smaller it was difficult getting in/out of the bed on the one side. There were plenty of extra pillows and blankets in both rooms. Both balconies overlook the pool and hot tub area.

The bar was usually quiet, even on Super Bowl Sunday, what's with that? Although we didn't use the restaurant we did order from "Joey Pizza". It was edible in a Domino's Pizza kind of way.

There are free laundry facilities (you buy detergent), a pool table, sizable lounge, and minisclue gift shop. The pool is great, the staff are generally helpful, and were always willing to provide whatever we asked for and made any wrong right almost immediatley. For example, when a vending machine failed they bought the product to our room, with an extra freebie. Noise is usually my pet peeve so I am very sensitive to thin walls or kids running in hallways. Maybe it was just our location, but there were not any noise problems. Peeve number 2 are lights at night. Both the balcony door and window had black out drapes that fully closed in the bedroom. Overall the place was pretty good.

As for it's location, Tucson ain't Manhattan, you'll need a car no matter where you stay.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank ReallyDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We stayed here for one week for a timeshare exchange. We had a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking a very, very busy and NOISY intersection. We requested a different room, but they couldn't find us one until 3 days later. We were told they didn't have any rooms, yet we saw very few people around the complex. We got very little sleep. Also, the heater was the type that the fan ran all the time....adding more noise to our room. We did end up with a much quieter room on the other side of the building. Parking was tight. There were 3 security officers. We would not have felt comfortable walking around after dark. The front desk help seemed to be constantly changing shifts...like every few hours. We never did understand why the need for so much staff. With the automatic opening front doors to the lobby, it made the central bar/grill very chilly during our stay. Seemed terribly early to us for them to shut down at 9 pm. Overall, the rooms were adequate for 2 people. Jacuzzi tub was nice. Every day minimum maid service was a nice touch. Was great to have free laundry facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pammella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
0.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#25 of 129 in Tucson
1,152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Address: 3855 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-4021
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $71 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing