We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place if you can get it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2005

Huge suites with kitchen, living area. Very comfortable. We stayed with our adult son in a two bedroom, two bath suite with a great balcony looking out over the pool and the mountains and felt it was the best place we'd ever stayed. Friendly, efficient staff and nice grounds, very nice toiletries. We've stayed there twice and would stay more often, but can't always get a room or rates go up in season. Very reasonable off season. All rooms have a balcony, but some look out on busy street or parking lot. Try to get one that looks onto the courtyard. Bar has great drinks and a happy hour. Only complaint is there should be internet hookup. The one computer in the lobby for guests was often taking over by kids and there was a wait. They really should get access in the rooms. Varsity Club will be the first place we check when we are booking a hotel in Tucson.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Carol119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 186 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
California
218
Reviewed March 29, 2005

We had 5 adults and one child in our group. The length of the stay was four nights. Pro--1. Convenient location on a major Tucson intersection east of downtown. 2. Suite had good floor plan. 3. Maids did an excellent job cleaning and restocking. 3. Kitchen had everything we needed and then some. 4. Enjoyed the unscale ammenities. 5. The public areas were well-maintained. Neutral--1. Desk staff could use some further training in customer service and enthusiasm for their job.
Con--1. Our biggest complaint was the dirty unholstery on the sofa and chair in the sitting area. It was LONG past the time for a good cleaning. I didn't even want to sit on them. 2. I think the tubs are dangerous. They are the jacuzzi type with very high sides. The only grab bar above tub level was a light weight towel rack to assist with getting in and out. If someone slipped I have no doubt that the flimsy rack would pull right out of the tile. 3. Poor lighting for reading. The only satisfactory area was sitting on the high wooden stools in the kitchen area. 4. No hooks to hang robe, clean clothing, etc. on in the bath/dressing area. 5. With three TVs available, a TV guide to see what's on would have been helpful.

Suzanne, California

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
110
Reviewed March 21, 2005

3/18/05 - Its a suite, beautiful decor, great kitchen, excellent cable TVs, great bed, top of the line for a reasonable price. Wish they were in every city over 100,000. Convenient to White Sox/D'Back spring training site and U of Arizona campus. Great central TV/Bar has super-size screens. Safe, secure, great outdoor pool. And I lucked into the suite - I had never heard of this chain before.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Varsity Club in tucson...great location...great alternative for families...well equipped kitchen, good space, nicely decorated, with great sun deck overlooking the pool...would heartily recommend it...(I wish they would take down the Budweiser ad. down in the lobby...it's a little off-putting!!!

5  Thank MARGOSaco_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2005

This is a very good hotel to stay in. Registration was fast and the people were nice. It was a small 1 bedroom, but comfortable. You can have breakfast, lunch or dinner there if you wanted to. Otherwise McDonald's was across the street along with other restaurants.

They only had 1 computer near the lobby for internet access but I was able to check my e-mail without a wait. They also had an exercise room and a billiard room. We had fresh towels daily and they even brought in a portable George Foreman oven, because the room had 2 burners and no oven. There's also a small full size refrigerator.

It was quiet because we were there between Christmas and New Years.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank webmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Riverside, CA
14
Reviewed August 18, 2004

This is a nice hotel with a very friendly staff. The rooms were very large. Security was great and the pool area was nice. Would stay here again.
Betsy

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Roseville, Minnesota
14
Reviewed June 21, 2004

A friend & I stayed at the Varsity Club in Tucson for one week this past May, 2004....it was a great place to stay....rooms were kept very clean, staff were very helpful when we needed directions and the location was super....even though the intersection where it's located is very busy, it was easy for us to get to all the places we needed to go to or wanted to visit....

I would definitely stay there again.....!!!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
0.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#25 of 129 in Tucson
1,153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
1.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 129 in Tucson
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Address: 3855 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-4021
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $72 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing