We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Enjoyed my stay. Staff very friendly, lobby quiet and coffee/tea available at all hours. Room very comfortable, extraordinarily clean and quiet. Furnished with everything needed for the stay - all the kitchen necessities and plenty of extra bath/pool towels, etc. Very nice extras for a family - large swimming pool, ping pong table, foosball and fitness center. Fast food and drug store are across the street, a few restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is located in a business district but it's an easy drive to the university, shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Varsity Clubs of America, and that the resort had everything you needed for a great vacation! We are delighted that you would like to return here in the future, and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
75
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Customer service was very good. Front desk staff was very friendly and upbeat. Very insightful and knowledgeable. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. There was an over-abundance of resources available in the room and lobby area, i.e. towels, pillows, drinks. There was no breakfast offered. The local bus service has a stop right in front of the hotel and the University of Arizona is about 2 miles away. There is also a movie theater less than one mile away. There is a Walgreens and a few fast food restaurants located directly across the street and adjacent to the hotel. There were more towels than one would have a need for ready on the bed and in the bathroom. The couch wasn't very comfortable, but the bed was comfortable. The bath tub was a jet-tub and was easy to use and warm water was quick to flow. There were soaps and shampoos and other cleaning gels.

There was a fitness center with three treadmills, some ellipticals and some weights; two TV's in the fitness center, with a remote provided by the front desk to control them. There are small locker rooms immediately accessible from the fitness center, and the pool is accessible from the fitness center as well. The pool and the fitness center are open from early morning to late at night. There is a pool table, and ping pong table in the front lobby area and a seating area with a tv on the news channel in the lobby area as well.

The staff was very friendly, proactive and thoughtful, remembering names and greeting at all times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for joining us and also for posting the details of your stay with us! We strive to provide an overall exceptional experience to our guests. We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed all areas of our resort and the personalized service our teams provide. Please know that we sincerely value your feedback and your patronage. We excitedly look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

General
My family (2 adults, 1 teen) stayed there for a week in April for spring break, as member of Diamond Resorts, in a 2-bedroom accommodation. We flew into Phoenix and drove about 2 hours to get there. You really need a car to go anywhere. The location made the place feel more like a hotel (amongst stores, car dealerships, local restaurants) than what one might consider a “resort”, especially since it was in an average neighborhood—not a big deal for us but just saying.

Likes
Very large rooms with plenty of storage
Comfortable beds, reasonable pillows
Lots of stores nearby
Pool, outdoor grill, recreation (ping pong, pool table), business center, exercise room
Free, well-lit parking
Large laptop in-room safe
Reasonable speed (2-3 Mbps) free Wi-Fi
Friendly staff
No timeshare sale, unlike many other Diamond Resorts

Neutral
Noisy because it was on a busy city street corner
LED TV but no HD signal
DVD player not Blu-Ray
No in-room laundry but complementary common laundry

Dislikes
Late 80’s décor, laminate countertops
Noisy below-window A/C units
Uncomfortable sofa
No oven or dishwasher, only 2 burner stove and microwave

Fun Things We Did
Rooster Cogburn Ostrich Farm (silly but fun)
Kitt Peak Observatory NIGHT program (awesome, must do)
Biosphere 2
Saguaro National Park East and West
Arizona-Sonoran Desert Museum (very nice, go early to see animals before gets too hot)
Titan Missile Museum
Sabino Canyon tour / hike

So So Things We Did
OK Corral (in Tombstone)
Queen Mine Tour (in Bisbee), but Bisbee is nice town to visit
Steward Observatory Mirror Lab
Tucson Botanical Garden (not bad but expensive)

Summary
Average accommodations but more than adequate for our needs. Friendly staff. No major complaints, just needs updating. Supposed to undergo major renovation in August, so should be better by 2015.

Room Tip: Face away from street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KermitNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for choosing us as your Tucson destination during Spring Break! We are happy to hear that you and your family had a pleasant stay overall. We appreciate when our valued members share their experience with us and we hope to welcome you all back again in the future to Varsity Clubs of America - Tucson for another memorable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This newer hotel, on the main drag Speedway, really surpassed my expectations (see photos). The suite was quite large with a kitchen, sitting room and bedroom. Full sized refrigerator, 2 burner stove, and many things you would need to make basic meals. They thought of everything, toaster, blender, microwave, can opener, paper towels, dish soap, and sets of dishes, pots and pans, knifes and utensils. It was great!
The bed is very comfortable, with closets of extra linens, pillows, towels. I was impressed by the super whirlpool tub in its own little room.
This was really like a small apartment. There is a sliding door that opens out to a nice balcony with table and chairs. There is a nice pool area, with jacuzzi and a workout room.
Wireless was free and very fast.
Everything was new and very clean. And, though this place does not have the glamour of the older Foothills hotels, the amenities really make up for it. I had all I could need here to be comfortable for several days. The location is excellent for doing business in town or visiting a university student.
I now have a whole new idea of what it takes for me to be comfortable when I visit Tucson!

Room Tip: Definitely for a room in the inner courtyard facing the pool. The street noise was surprisingly loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
On behalf of Varsity Clubs of America -Tucson, we extend our sincerest thanks for the kind and detailed comments you have shared with the travel community! It’s very rewarding to hear when our guests have a wonderful time with us. We strive to provide an overall exceptional experience to our guests. We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed all areas of our resort! Please know that we sincerely value your feedback and your patronage. We excitedly look forward to your next stay with us, whether it’s for business or for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The staff was super friendly and very accomodating with directions and local recommendations. The rooms, public and dinning areas were always clean. Great place to stay, especially while in town for University business. They get the "customer is king" concept at this facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claresholm, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had an excellent suite with 2 bedrooms as there were 4 of us. Everything was handy and the rooms were large and comfortable. As we were just touring we were interested in the local activities. I went 3 times to the front desk to ask for brochures and they had very few on hand. Anything that I asked informaton about they had to look up on the computer and print the requested info. They were not well informed about the local parade or any of the well known attractions. I called back 3 times as I had forgotten something in the room but no one could give me any info about it. Again the rooms, pool and hot tube were wonderful but the staff needs to brush up on local events.

Room Tip: We had an excellent room and it was very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy1351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We expect our staff to be able to provide guests with information about the local area, and we are sorry that you had cause for disappointment in this regard. We hope that this didn’t spoil your stay here, and that you’ll give the Varsity Clubs of America another chance in the future – we feel sure that if you do return here, your experiences will be much more favorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay at. It is a time share and in between times, they rent the suites out to travelers. We stayed here a couple of nights. The rooms have everything you need, and are very clean. We used the pool also and the hot tub. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
0.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
1.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 130 in Tucson
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Property: Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Address: 3855 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-4021
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing