We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #52 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

After extending my trip to AZ, I was looking for an inexpensive motel/hotel for a few days in Tucson. I found this 3 star motel, with a 4.8 rating from reviewers. I am not normally a 3 star person, but I decided to save the money and take the risk. I was absolutely amazed at what I got for the money. The outside is nothing that would hint at how nice it was inside. Everything was immaculately clean. My room was 500 sq feet, with an alcove housing a pillow top king bed and full closet. There was a full kitchen, with a refrigerator, a breakfast bar with chairs,a microwave, coffee maker, toaster, 2 burner stove top, blender, all the utensils, can openers, corkscrews, plates, pots & pans you could need and the lovely girl at the front desk said if I needed a stove they would bring me o toaster oven. The living room had a sofa sleeper, chair and I would guess a 50" flat screen TV that swiveled so you could watch it from either the living room or bed. On top of 2 air conditioning units, there were also 2 ceiling fans (which if you ever have been to AZ is important). My bathroom was very large with a walk in shower. Tip: they do not provide daily maid service, but there is an on site laundry room and they give you a small detergent, new sponge, dish soap, dish towels, etc. The staff was amazing. So friendly and accommodating! When I checked out, Raul told me the resort was owned by Diamond Resorts Int'l & they would be renovating even more. I hope the rates don't go way up when they do, because I plan to stay here any time I am in Tucson! Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for taking to the time in sharing your thoughts in regard to your recent stay here at The Varsity Clubs of America, Tucson Chapter. We were very delighted to read that our accommodations, amenities, and, customer service exceeded your expectations and provided a good value for the price you paid. Our team members take great pride in providing exception customer service and will be very touched when hearing about the kind words you had for them. As we are primarily a vacation ownership resort, housekeeping services are provided at no extra cost for those guests who are staying for four or more nights. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forwarded to seeing you again the next time you are in the Tucson area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed 2 nights here. Lots of pluses: Excellent suite w/Jacuzzi, reas. price, convenient location, parking, Wi-Fi, newspaper, friendly staff, pool, spa, gym.
One of the nicest places I've stayed in years

Room Tip: Maybe a 1st floor room near the pool if you'll be staying a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at the Varsity Clubs of America Tucson Chapter. We were delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities and Customer Service met, if not exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels take you to Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We enjoyed the pool table and foosball game. Our room was
facing the pool which was a great view. Missed having a restaurant in the hotel but their are
many eating places within walking distance. Had pizza delivered one night. The room was
nice and loved the bathtub with jets. Our biggest complaint was the ac room wall units in
both the livingroom and bedroom. They were very loud and kicked on and off all night long.
Will still stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rld70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Varsity Clubs of America Tucson. We are thrilled that you were able to find recreation and relaxation during your stay here and that you will be returning to our resort again in the future. As guest satisfaction is our top priority, our front desk and maintenance staff would have been be more than happy to address any issues that arose from your room such as a noisy air conditioning unit, or looked into relocating you to a more preferable suite had we been given the opportunity to do so. We are very pleased that this appears not to have marred your stay! Until your next visit, we wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here twice this month. The first time we had a room facing over the pool area and it was nice, even though I don't like the wall a/c units.
The second time was last week and we got a room facing Alvernon and it was NOISY! The rooms were clean but this trash stayed at the stairwell the entire two days we were there. The first stay we failed to get our requested wake up call. Other than that, and the fact that there is no ice machine on the first floor, I would recommend this place. The first time we stayed we had a very comfortable bed but the second time, not so much.....

Room Tip: request a room facing away from Alvernon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomKat2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you are planning to go to Tucson and in particular, events at the University of Arizona, then this is a nice hotel. It has a sports/college feel to it. Located a couple of miles east of the main campus, it has a nice pool and the lobby has a great pool table.

It is a Diamond Resort time share and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are big. My room had a full refrigerator, a microwave and coffee maker. It did not have an oven or stove like many of the other Diamond resorts have. I was able to get a good rate on line. Speedway Blvd. is a busy street but the rooms were quiet. Great value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Tucson and for sharing your comments with your fellow travelers and our future guests.
We are delighted to hear that our location and accommodations contributed to you having an experience that received such high praise and we hope to see you coming back for another visit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been staying at the Varsity Club in Tucson for the past five years while visiting family members. We continue to be very satisfied with their accommodations. We especially enjoy the fact that the bedroom is separate from the livingroom and kitchen since my husband tends to stay up late watching TV. I can close the door to the bedroom and get some sleep.

The kitchen area is equipped with the essentials so that you have what you need if you choose to cook your own meals. The bathroom is separate from the bedroom. There is a whirlpool tub which we didn't use. However, the shower was quite nice. I like the fact that the vanity sink is outside the bathroom so I can be putting on make-up while my husband is in the shower. Also a big factor for us it the fact that the beds are quite comfortable. Laundry facilities are available at NO CHARGE which is a definite plus.

What we like best about this hotel is the fact that the day front desk manager and the night clerk have been the same personnel throughout our years of staying at the Varsity Club. That speaks volumes about the type of employer the Varsity Club must be since their employees stay with them!

We like the "personal touch" all of the employees at the Varsity Club give us throughout our stay with them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel not bordering on the two busy streets to the east and south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you’ve chosen the Varsity Clubs of America for your visits to Tucson, and that you appreciate the service you’ve received from our team. We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for another visit – we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this Diamond Resort to visit all the sights and parks around Tucson. The hotel is conveniently located and staff was very friendly and helpful when it came to advise about places to eat, things to do etc.
The hotel is well kept, however the standard is slightly below what you might be used from other Diamond owned and operated resorts. However we enjoyed our stay very much and you get a lot for your money/points. Since the hotel was not built by Diamond, the studios are much larger compared to other Diamond resorts, as a matter of fact they are like a small version of a 1 bedroom unit incl. a separate kitchen space and a small living room space and a patio/balcony. From there we had a nice view over the pool area. A big thank you to the staff and management there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for writing such a detailed review our resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities of your studio unit with pool views and are very pleased that the location met, if not exceeded, your expectations. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you thought that they were friendly, and helpful. Recently acquired through ILX, we are determined to make Varsity Clubs of America Tucson a premier vacation destination in Arizona. We look forward to being of service to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
6.6 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
0.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
8.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
7.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#57 of 129 in Tucson
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Address: 3855 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-4021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $98 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing