We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel at a good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent three nights here on a recent trip to Tucson. This hotel is located in a convenient location in a very nice area of Tucson. We stayed in a room on the ground floor facing Alverson. Though there is a lot of traffic the noise did not bother us.

We were in a very nice room with excellent amenities. The bedding is top notch with great sheets, pillows and comfortable mattress. The price we paid for this room was quite economical for the quality of this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone considering a stay in Tucson.

We would definitely stay there again.

My only complaint would be that not all the rooms have high def TV. Though I don't know where they would put a large screen tv in the room we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Varsity Clubs of America. We were delighted to hear that our accommodations, amenities, location, and price met or exceeded your expectations. Your recommendation of our resort is sincerely appreciated by the staff here. We are definitely looking at upgrading the TV’s in the rooms without High definition. In order to proceed with a project of this cost; however, we would need to receive the approval from our Homeowner’s Association. We look forward to seeing you here again soon, the next time you are in the Tucson area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    66
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
45
64
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We showed up late in the evening, and was greeted by real friendly host(Raul) , He put us up in very nice suite,#224, It was roomy.clean and quiet, the bed very comfy. The whole place was clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly,it has a large pool and hot tub, and a decent exercise room.

Room Tip: stay in a suite on 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Do not stay here if you are a light sleeper. Traffic noise from Speedway and Alvernon is horrible! Sirens. Buses. Squeaky brakes. Motorcycles. Ugh. Get an interior room out stay elsewhere. Pool and hot tub above average. Bedding and towels and bed comfort average only. Our tub shower curtain was quite discolored with red mold. Couch was coming apart. Front desk staff super friendly. Also a time share.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time2pedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pros - Nice pool area - clean large suites w/mini kitchen - free morning coffee & tea - free wi-fi
Cons - Not within walking distance of much - no oven or dishwasher in the unit - no restaurant on site or within walking distance (unless you count McDonald's across the street)

This is a cross between a time share/condo and a hotel. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The staff is less than informative. They don't provide daily house keeping, including clean towels. Room set up was nice but I wouldn't stay here again. No restaurant or bar on site. Pool is nice but only in sun a few hours.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodation to each of our guests who stay with us, and it is concerning to us that our accommodations, amenities, and the behavior of our team member staff did not meet your expectations. As we are primarily a Vacation Ownership property, housekeeping services are provided on a weekly basis. This information, along with additional services and amenities, is relayed to our 3rd party rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels. We hope that you will consider us again if you come back to the Tucson area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I go to a lot of the University of Arizona home games in Tucson. I have stayed in probably 7 hotels before I found this jewel. The property was very clean and well maintained. The bed was a fresh and firm pillow top. The linens were impeccable. There was a FULL KITCHEN with pots/pans silver wear, dished, full refrigerator, oven, cooktop, coffee maker, blender, etc. I mean a full kitchen. There were 2 wall mounted HD TV's, one in the bedroom and one in the living room. I would say 42" screens. They have complimentary WIFI. I will never stay anywhere else in Tucson. Be sure to check Priceline for bargain prices. I saved half. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but a snack shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights in September 2012. I had an "efficiency unit" with the bed off the living area and kitchen. The room and bathroom were huge, nicely decorated and extremely clean. I had a king size bed that was probably the most comfortable bed I ever slept in. The linens are available for purchase which I am considering :). I had a room overlooking the pool and it was very quiet except for an occasional squeal from a child at the pool during the day. Not having visited Tucson before, I was not sure how safe the location would be. As a single female traveling alone, I felt very safe and the location was ideal, being so centrally located in town. The tv was a flat screen on a pivot wall mount so it could be adjusted to view from the bed or living area. The free wifi worked and I was able to print my boarding passes on the hotel business center. The hotel is 9 miles from the airport with 20-25 minutes travel time depending on traffic/time of day. The room also had a nice selection of local guides that assisted me with adding some additional activities I had not planned. I also used the guest laundry which was free (no quarters needed) for guest use.

What could be improved? They could add a guest laundry on the first floor. I was on the first floor and had to go to the 2nd or 3rd floor to use it. The one on the 2nd floor had only 2 washers and 2 dryers so I was fortunate no one else was using it at the time. Also, a mini dishwasher In each kitchen would be nice. They provide dish soap but with only a mini bar sized sink, how could you easily wash more than a glass or plate? This kept me from actually using the 2-burner stove to cook anything. Note: Candlewood Suites has a kichenette AND a mini dishwasher. This place is definitely a notch above CWS but CWS has one up on VCA with the dishwasher!

If I am ever in Tucson again, I will definitely staff here if the price is right. I got a great deal on hotels.com for $60 a night for this stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
0.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#27 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
#49 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Property: Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Address: 3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing