We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service At A Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Ranked #15 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

When I saw some of the more recent reviews, I had to make sure I was on the right hotel. This place was amazing, especially for the price.

We flew into Phoenix and drove to Tucson immediately after our flight. We were understandably tired, and the woman at the front desk (I wish I could remember her name) made sure that we got into our room as quickly as possible. She also made sure we had cold waters, and offered us cookies. Sometimes it is hard to describe how helpful and welcoming an employee is when writing a review, and this is one of those times. Every time we had questions, the staff went above-and-beyond to help us. They printed out directions when we decided to check out an attraction we were not planning on visiting. I also witnessed an employee who was faced with a visitor who was getting a little upset with the way a third-party site organized a reservation. The staff person defused the situation to the point that the guest was extremely happy, and they were all laughing by the end of the discussion.

On the first day we stayed there, the pool had some debris in it, but it was a windy day, and it was just stuff that had blown off the surrounding plants. The atmosphere, however, in the pool was great.

The room was everything you could ask for from a reasonably priced hotel. I am 6'4", so I always have a particular interest in bathroom size, and that is another area where our first-floor room excelled. This may not be a big deal for some people, but tall people need big bathrooms. The air conditioning, important in Tucson, also was very consistent.

I have seen people complain about the breakfast on this site, which I think is crazy (personally). The selection was amazing with fresh-made omelets, and ham or sausage (depending on the day). There was a waffle-maker, fresh fruit, five-types of cereal, and various drinks. I was particularly impressed that Cinnamon Toast Crunch was included as one of the cereals. CTC is expensive compared to most cereals, and the generic never tastes the same as the name brand. This may be a very small thing overall, but it shows that the people in charge care about the guests. My wife also appreciated the cucumber water that was always available in the lobby.

The lobby contained a lot of information about attractions in the area, and had ideas that we weren't able to find while planning the trip. The hotel has a small library of books you can borrow for your stay, and there were people who were sitting and talking with other guests in the lobby, because it had such a feel of home.

The location is also a positive. You are not in the middle of the city, so you avoid issues with parking and noise, but you have easy access to a grocery store; both of the major highways that run through the city; some quick places to get food; the San Xavier Mission (one of our favorite sites in the country); and the Tucson Airport. There was a shuttle available, but we didn't use it.

I am not criticizing the negative comments, because I did not have the same experience, but I do find it hard to believe that a place this helpful was ever as bad as those reports.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAB40AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our staff provided great customer service. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to score us as extremely satisfied. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests but it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and the services we provide.
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inn & Suites we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 814 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a second choice as we prefer country inns and our desired location was booked. Our stay was a little above average. The rooms were not as clean as other country inns. Dusty fixtures, carpets needed a vacuum by the beds. The food was not great. Oatmeal was cold. Not a great fruit selection. The beds were comfortable. Bathroom was dated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I'm glad to see you thought the beds were comfortable and have addressed the issue with the oatmeal and fruit with the staff to ensure that is taken care of in the future. Please excuse our dust while we renovate. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had originally booked two nights here based off of Trip Advisor reviews...HUGE mistake. While the staff is friendly, the rooms (and the hotel itself) are run down and dirty. There were stains on the carpet in the hallways and in the rooms, the shower had hair in it, and rust stains...the hotel was dark and dingy. Needless to say, I ended up cancelling my second night. I guess you get what you pay for. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2travel_allover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the process of replacing our carpet and we look forward to the finished product. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. Please contact the hotel directly for your next booking so that we can ensure you get the best available rate and a chance to beat your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this location. Was disappointed in the changes. Must be under new management. This will be our last stay. Waited at desk to check in maid had to go get someone. Stopped by desk 2 other times the same day, no one to be found. Checkout next morning, no one at desk again then computer systems down. This property has gone down hill.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I assure you that the issues you mentioned have been personally addressed and the computer system issue we had is solved. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations. Please come and see us again when you are in the area so that we can meet and beat your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Just had a great stay overall. Made a last second change to the reservation and was pleased to have it work out. Hot breakfast was good and the hours nice and long. The staff was nice and helpful and the accommodations were a great value for the price. Will be staying again next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

We thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about us online! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was great!

Check In: Super easy and quick. They give out water bottles at check in, which was really nice after our long drive.

Accommodations: The hotel was clean. The room was clean. The bathroom was clean. No bed bugs. Perfect shower temperature. Perfect room temperature.

Breakfast: Very good! They had the usual hotel breakfast food spread, but there was also granola, strawberries, french toast, several cereals, etc. I wouldn't call it fine dining, but there were a lot of options and the food actually looked good to eat.

Check out: Took like 5 seconds. Super easy.

Parking: Free!

Location: Not really in walking distance of any of the major sites, but it's not a far drive. I believe it took us 15 minutes to get downtown. And it took about 30 minutes to get to the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum. If you're looking for something more central, this probably won't be it. But for us, it was a good location.

Price: Great! $94 for one king, non-smoking room.

Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Tucson.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mreszka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for our property. We are ecstatic to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at midnight and realizing you booked for wrong day is frustrating. But the attendent gracefully gave me a room at the same great price without discussion. This was a little more than I expected and then I was pleased to find the room so well suited for my travel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank TheTeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am so glad to see that our staff was able to adjust your reservation date and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Tucson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
7.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Address: 6681 S Tucson Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85756-7011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#23 Family Hotel in Tucson
#30 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $77 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our convenient hotel near Tucson International Airport with its prime location near numerous local attractions, this is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. We are ideally situated near the University of Arizona just a short drive from downtown Tucson. Rates include a full hot breakfast buffet, free TUS Airport shuttle service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, an outdoor pool and spa,a business and fitness center, a Read It and Return library, and freshly baked cookies and coffee all day long. Our convenient location combined with our warm hospitality and inviting atmosphere make us the perfect place to stay in Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Tucson Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing