We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Country Inn the last week of September. It is located within walking distance from the Tucson international airport. Obviously, there are MANY choices for hotels in this area. What made my stay at the Country Inn so extra special is the warmth of the hotel. One can never really feel at home in a hotel but at the CI it was the next best thing. Staff couldn't have been friendlier. From the front desk staff, to the cleaning staff. The amenities were great too. It's a quality stay at a very reaosnable price. I would highly recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We truly appreciate the fact that you took the time to post such an amazing review about our property. We strive for customer service excellence and I'm proud that our team delivers. Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    159
    59
    25
    18
See reviews for
255
164
83
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Overall this hotel left a good impression – the room was clean and cozy (though, I did not fancy the chosen design, which was actually a bit different from what was on the website), the staff was kind, as well as extremely helpful and hospitable. Though, I have mixed thoughts on whether the pool by the hotel is good idea. On the one hand, I had a lovely morning swim there. On the other hand, the pool is a bit too noisy place for such a tranquil atmosphere, plus, as I noticed, it makes some extra cleaning problems e.g. lots of guests are going inside the hotel with wet feet. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay there and would use this service again, if ever flying to Tucson Airport again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We appreciate the fact that you took the time to right a positive review about our property! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We liked Country Inn very much because the staff was super nice and they let us eat breakfast even though we got there 5 minutes after the designated closing time. Everyone was friendly.

The hotel also allows pets, which was important to us on our cross-country drive. The biggest problem we had was the shower - very low water pressure. That combined with very thin shampoo left my hair less than clean. We also felt that the mattress was old and not very comfortable.

The best part is the location, regarding eating options. Right nearby are Burger King, Wendy's, Waffle House, McD's, inexpensive gas at Circle K and much more. After a day of driving we were very happy to have these choices available. There are also restaurants such as sushi if you want something more than fast food.

Of the three hotels we stayed in during our trip, this one had the best breakfast. They give you actual silverware (one place didn't) and have many options to choose from such as pre-made hot oatmeal, waffles, cereal, pastries & breads, eggs, potatoes, sausage and an omelet stand.

The hotel is located among many other hotels, such as Marriott Courtyard, Hilton Garden Inn and a few others. We chose this for being pet-friendly; if that's not a concern for you, you might want to check out the other options in the area. All are within an easy drive of I-10, although not directly on the highway.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor near the back door for easy access for our dog, which was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write a review! Please come and see us again when your travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The position of this hotel is unfortunate sitting behind a rental car lot. It is close to the airport and an airforce base but we were never disturbed by plane noise. The down side for us was the lack of food outlets in the nearby area.
The hotel itself had some nice daily touches such as iced water with lime/lemon and freshly baked cookies. The room was standard size and clean and comfortable. The pool and spa areas were fine but it was disappointing that the outdoor litter bins remained full for a couple of days before they were emptied. This should be a daily routine.
In general there is room for some improvement.

Room Tip: Top floor with a view to the back otherwise you would look on to the car rental lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations. Please come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We picked the Country Inns and Suites by Tuscon Airport for its proximity to the Pima Air Museum. We found a last-minute deal online which the hotel did not seem to be able to price match when we enquired on the phone. Location wise it was in a quiet suburb of Tuscon: there isn’t a huge amount round the hotel aside from the Holiday Inn next door and Enterprise car rental office on the other side. The car park was big and stretched all the way round the hotel and the hotel seems very wheel-chair accessible. The rooms were basic but spacious, with a generous number of bedside lamps and effective curtains. The carpet felt a bit tacky in barefeet so we all kept our socks on, although I am not entirely sure if it was a cleanliness issue, or just down to the material of the carpet. The main issue I had with this hotel - isn't really something that they can mitigate - but was the noise from the planes coming in and out of Tuscon Airport through the window glass. I am by no means a light sleeper but there was no way I could have had a lie in with the noise from the engines flying past. Breakfast was basic but as with the other reviewers, we loved the waffle machine. The nearest food outlets were fast food places a Wendy’s and Subway. As we did not fancy either, nor food in the Holiday Inn restaurant, we wound up in a nice Japanese sushi restaurant (Sachiko Sushi) – despite our resistance due to the inland location of Tuscon – but which won out on the basis of ease of driving. We found that once you came off the main roads in the area at night, it was generally unlit which made navigating (for foreign drivers) difficult.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about our property! We are very sorry to see that you had issues with the noise from the planes, as this is an airport location, but we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay otherwise! Please come and see us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We'd never stayed in a Country Inn/Suites, though have seen them in numerous places. We wanted to be centrally located to various responsibilities we would have in our 5 days in Tucson and this looked like the place. We were surprised to get an upgrade to a suite (possibly because of our prepaid 5 days, perhaps because I looked like I really needed it when checking in), and the room was welcoming and pleasant beyond our expectations.

We did have some issues: the card by the bed says that by hanging your towels on the rod, they will not be replaced daily. We did, at least over the shower rod (hanging on the towel rod would have had them dangling in the toilet space) and they were daily replaced. So much for environmental friendliness. I opened the face soap bar and put it in the soap dish the first evening, it was taken up the next day and not replaced. Our plastic glasses were not replaced for a couple days. I personally do not appreciate a signed card telling me who cleans the room, particularly when the handwriting is illegible, but moreso when the card/name change three times in 4 days. I think I understand that palm trees need watering/irrigation, but not sure a grass lawn is necessary in Tucson, and more to the point, the spray for which overruns the sidewalk directly alongside the handicap spaces, drenching the mobility-impaired customers. The right side of the hot-food server in the breakfast room was never warm, nor were the eggs or french toast in it.

But staff was very obliging, even to replenishing the paper in the printer in the lobby, and there was no charge for printing boarding passes there, unlike other places charging $5 for same. The wifi was free and fast. The rooms were comfortable, I could have used somewhat more lighing in the front (desk, tv, sofa, easy chair) room... is that a living room? but elsewhere lighting was quite adequate. The toiletries were fine. The fridge and microwave worked well. The airplane traffic was inaudible although we were on the airport side, except for the Air Nat'l Guard fighters, which should remind us to be thankful for national security anyway. I was unclear about whether there were smoking rooms, the room next to ours had the no-smoking decal removed, but we never noticed any smell of smoking, although the fellows moving into it our last night were loudly shouting to others of their group some distance away that theirs was a smoking room while the others' weren't. The complimentary chocolate cookies and the cucumber-flavored icewater were a treat that paled after the first day, the complimentary newspaper continued to be a treat, though I wonder if it would be possible to carry the local paper as well as USAToday.

All in all, rather fine, considering the price and location, and we'd certainly stay at this Country Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narrowboatersia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of property! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel was very welcoming at 3 am when we needed a room. It was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel staff member on duty , "Teddy," was very helpful. She made us feel like we were visiting family - fresh cookies, cold beverages and fresh fruit in the lobby. The pet fee is $25 per stay and our room was a deal at $79 a night including breakfast and wifi!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gea58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I have shared your compliments with Teddy, and she was honored that you mentioned her by name. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize her for a job well done!

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tucson Airport
6.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Address: 6681 South Tucson Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#23 Family Hotel in Tucson
#30 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our convenient hotel near Tucson International Airport with its prime location near numerous local attractions, this is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. We are ideally situated near the University of Arizona just a short drive from downtown Tucson. Rates include a full hot breakfast buffet, free TUS Airport shuttle service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, an outdoor pool and spa,a business and fitness center, a Read It and Return library, and freshly baked cookies and coffee all day long. Our convenient location combined with our warm hospitality and inviting atmosphere make us the perfect place to stay in Tucson. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Tucson Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing