We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update 2 nd time here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport
Ranked #72 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I usually enjoy holiday inn express. Nit this one, Under new management, but not very clean. When steping into room smelled strong musty odor. Bathroom had standing water. Bathroom did not seemed to be cleaned. Breakfast bar was not too good. I'll stay at another hotel next time.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Abel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Dear Abel02,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I are without question supporters of Holiday Inn Expresses throughout the country. After years of staying at any number of chain motels, we finally decided several years ago to stay, whenever we could, at a HIE in whatever locale we visit and, in the main, we have never been disappointed. That does not mean that all of the chain's hotels are equal; they clearly are not. Some in which we have stayed have been exceptional. Others are just OK but little else. The Tucson Airport HIE falls far closer to this last generalization. It may be that our 3-star ranking is too low but unquestionably a 4 would be much too high. A 3.4 if one could use decimal numbering would about perfect.

Our king-bedded room was comfortable but undeniably on the small side. Its decoration was more Soviet modern than anything else with rather blah cream-colored walls broken only by one small print of a Southwestern piece of pottery. Counter space was adequate but little more than that and the air conditioning unit cranky and quite hard to set satisfactorily. Check-in and out was quick and seamless but it was obvious that no-one had bothered to check our advance reservation before welcoming us to the hotel. We always request, for instance, several additional pillows and usually have them waiting for us wherever we check-in. Not here. We are HIE Gold Club members and we are usually greeted as such by front desk staff everywhere. Again, not here. On the other hand, breakfast, in keeping with the hotel's location less than a mile from the Tucson International Airport, begins at 5:30 AM, a real convenience for flyers catching early-morning flights.

For folks needing a place to spend a night before heading off from the airport the next morning, the HIE is as good as any of the many motel/hotels that line Tucson Boulevard -- we have stayed in four others over the last five years and feel comfortable in making such an assessment. It is also cheaper than most so many potential guests might want to ignore all the negatives and just bed down for the night and let everything else concern others.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank BigP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had to stay here for a few days due to my wife's business trip. This would not have been our first choice. Staff was friendly, brkfst was decent, workout room scary, pool small, needs landscaping, floors are paper thin. Heard the guy above us clomping around every morning at 5am. Seems to be a place where work crews stay. They did have wifi which worked in our room, thankfully.
Too many other places around that are nicer.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor to avoid hearing others walk over your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crashman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Relatively new, this hotel had good sized, well appointed rooms. The room had a micro and fridge, tile floor in the bathroom, and a flat-screen TV. Free Internet was nice, but the breakfast was typical middle of the road pre-made omelette/sausage stuff, but there was yogurt, cereal, and a pancake maker as well. The breakfast room was inviting, as was the lobby with its impressive statuary and leather chairs. The price/quality ratio took this hotel from average to above average.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare_and_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We checked into the Holiday Inn for one night and we were pleased enough to extend our stay for 2 more nights. Rooms were large enough and clean. Our room was near the elevator, but this was not a problem - never heard it all night. Also, for being near the airport we didn't notice any noise from take-offs. We were satisfied with the room and decided to try breakfast before booking 2 more nights. There was plenty to choose from at the buffet so we stayed. The only negative was an inexperienced young woman at the desk who was too willing to give an answer, even if it was wrong - but fortunately, a more experienced clerk was at the ready to correct the information.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeandlindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

On check in the front desk attendant didn't know about the government rate(FED). When is was explained she still incorrectly input the information. The clerk knew nothing of the tax exemption. I showed her the tax exempt doc to which she had a blank stare. She did not input the priority rewards number on my reservation(I am a platinum member). When I arrived at the room it was clean and comfortable. The shower was a glaring deficiency. The shower was not clean. The shower had greasy, black footprints in it. Overall I would give this hotel a 6 on a scale of 1-10. Too much training/not enough people knowing whats going on and how to solve problems and input the correct information.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Brian P,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking the time to provide feedback. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have had way better stays. This HI was older and it showed. The perks were not impressive.  I will not return stay with them but since I have Platinum with Priority Club, I will try getting into the newer Staybridge around the corner. 

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepardue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
9.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Tucson Airport, AZ
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson Mall
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport

Address: 2548 E Medina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85756-7135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: $128 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a newly renovated property with updated furnishings and fixtures throughout the hotel including: flat screen TV's, Denver pillow top mattresses, new carpet, wallpaper, new wood furnishings in bedroom, and also an updated breakfast area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Holiday Inn Tucson
Tucson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing