We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Tea with Chicken and Waffles - Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of May's Counter

May's Counter
Ranked #296 of 1,971 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sweet Tea with Chicken and Waffles - Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Where else can you get authentic sweet tea and the uniquely awesome taste of fried chicken and waffles. So reasonably priced, attentive staff, and huge portions. My three measures.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mobes313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ooh, how I love my waffles with Reeses pieces!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

According to one of my kids, it's the best waffles ever had. And the other complimented on the chicken, loved it! I didn't have high expectations because of other reviews, but I don't see why. The chicken was very tasty! I ordered the chicken and waffles with pecans add on while he ordered it with the reeses pieces bits. Omg, his is SO good!! I love how it is cooked in.

I highly recommend the chicken and waffles with the reeses pieces add on. We all can't wait to come again! Also, great service and a fun environment. It feels like a sports bar which wasn't expected.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PandaJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun place to watch a game and have a beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We love May's but the service is a little less than stellar! If you're craving some good southern cooking head here.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snflwrs4hil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I love fried okra!!!! Yummy Okra...And the chicken is good stuff. Staff is friendly and the outdoor patio is always a good spot on a nice day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank misledandliberated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My wife is barfing in the bathroom”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

What we have here is a restaurant with a problem. Our first meal here was great, we went on a groupon deal and both my wife and I left very happy. So, we though we would order the same thing a week later takeout. This was a mistake. There is no doubt that a different chef was working today - perhaps he was blind, because he did not notice that the bacon in his “BBBLT” was not cooked. My wife was so hungry that she actually took a couple of bites before realizing this. The result was not pretty. There is a very good chef at this restaurant and there is another one (that in my opinion) should be fired.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PuaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May's Counter also viewed

 

Been to May's Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing