We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
South Central Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good bargain”
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in a regular room (the front desk offered an upgrade to a suite for only another $15 per night, but we declined). The standard room was fine for my wife, our two pre-teen daughters, and me.

During our stay we spent little time at the hotel, so we didn't make use of the pool, restaurant, business center, or exercise room. As others have noted, the bathroom was quite small but adequate. We booked the room through a discount site, so we did not know the beds were full size instead of larger queen beds. Apart from that small disappointment, we enjoyed our stay. The room came with a small refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV, small table with two chairs, and coffee maker. The Starbucks coffee was delicious. Housekeeping was kind enough to stuff my younger daughter's stuffed animals into bed after making the beds (the girls thought that it was a nice touch). The desk clerk was friendly and helpful. We agree that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the personal touches of our housekeeping staff and felt the warm Sheraton welcome that we strive to provide to all our guests! We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    191
    117
    73
    51
See reviews for
154
158
66
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Spent several days in Tucson, shopping and seeing the sights before heading to the Grand Canyon. This hotel came to me via Groupon, via Priceline. I bought an $80 worth of hotel $ on Priceline for $40 (via Tucson Groupon). We had been in Tucson for two days at the Holiday Inn Express at the Tucson Mall, which was OK, when I took my priceline $ and added $20 (to make it $100, but cost to me was $60) and picked an area and a minimum of 3.5 stars on Priceline and this is the hotel they booked for us and it was a GEM! Driving in to the parking lot off Grant the hotel is tucked away and is like a mini resort. From the minute we walked in to the lobby it was like an oasis. We were greeted by a very friendly, handsome male desk clerk and asked where we would like our room, I suggested a high floor with a view. We got a 4th floor room that seemed to be a mini-suite with living room separate from the bedroom and a fridge (which would not stay closed - only complaint) and a mini balcony with a great view of the mountains. We spent the evening enjoying the jacuzzi and the pool, which are set in an amazing courtyard which also serves as the hotel restaurant's outside dining area. There was a small gathering of people dressed to the nines having cocktails at the restaurant before going somewhere else and I can't imagine a sexier, more romantic ambience, with the fire pits all around, the low lighting flickering off the pool and jacuzzi (which were at first empty of people except us - later we were joined by a couple and then another couple with a baby, all very friendly.). We were there on a Saturday night I think and the restaurant, Fire and Spice, was mildly busy with a few couples dining later and I wish we had eaten there as the menu looked amazing (a little steep for my budget but...) Definitely the place for a romantic meal or stay. The hotel was quiet and the staff friendly and helpful and the room very clean and comfortable. The only complaint I have about the room is that I turned the a/c off and we woke up at 3 a.m. sweating! It was 74 degrees and the beds had these big puffy comforters. I turned the a/c on 65 and we went back to sleep. The next morning there was a little craft/artist fair in the lobby and my little girl bought herself a woven purse. After we left we realized we left our bathing suits there so we went back and thought there was going to be a hassle but they just gave us a room key and we went up and got them. Overall, I wish I stayed here all three nights we were in Tucson, and I will definitely stay here again. Great value on Priceline and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your great review of our property! I'm glad to hear you were able to make use of our Groupon special for a great value. It sounds like you really got a chance to explore the property and had a great experience, which we love to hear. We have taken special care to create just the ambiance you've described, and I'm glad to hear that it is apparent to our guests. We often have other special deals on our website as well as Groupon, and we hope that you'll be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Looking at the pictures and descriptions and reviews this hotel looks nice. For us, it was not. When we checked in, I mentioned we were Starwood Club members and would that get us a room with a better view. The nice lady at the desk asked what kind of view we wanted. I said a nice mountain view would be lovely. She said no problem. Wow, I thought, that was easy. We had brought our luggage into the lobby as there does not seem to be a bell help, which was fine. The clerk told us our room was around back on the third floor. So....we piled the luggage back in the car, drove around to the back of the hotel, parked, took our luggage up to the third floor and Voila! A view of the parking lot! Yes, you could see the mountains beyond the trees, but this view had to be the worst in the building. The mountains were mainly covered up by trees and unsightly buildings. The room was nothing special, just a room. The bathroom was old with cracked tiles and moldy cauling and VERY small. There was no living room. This was not a suite as all of the rooms on the website say they are. The carpeting in the hallways and room was stained and dirty. We have about 12 hotel stays a year. Many in Courtyard or Residence Inn type hotels, honestly this was our worst experiance ever. Coming back to the room after dinner one night there were three men just standing around on the parking lot, kind of peeking in cars. It was dark. A sign said that the hotel is not responsible for the vehicles on the lot. I insisted we pull around front and park there and walk back to our room (even though it was quite cold that evening). We stopped at the desk and reported this to the clerk. I will say that by the time we got up to the room a security guard was talking to the men. About 5 minutes later a Tucson police car/officer arrived and talked to the men some more. After about 15 minutes the men got in their vehicle and left. You could just tell they didn't belong there. They were dressed like hippies and looked scruffy/dirty.

My breakfast the next morning was $22 including tax and tip. A little pricey I thought for an omelet and bacon and coffee. Food was OK, nothing special.

I don't know what to say except I don't get the discrepency. Our room was the first or second room on the right as you get off the elevator, I think it was 329........but not sure of the number. I recommend you avoid this room at all cost. The hotel did not seem busy. I rarely saw other guests. If this hotel was recently renovated, as it says on the website, this room most definately could not have been.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnewbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. While it is true that most of our rooms are suites, we do also have some standard rooms which should be indicated on our booking page. I am glad to hear, however, that you reported your concern with the men who looked out of place and our security was prompt in responding. We make every effort to make sure that our guests are safe and secure while they are with us. If you have a chance to visit us again in the future, I would definitely recommend our Breakfast Package. You can get your breakfast included in your room rate for two people for just $10 to save some money. I hope you are able to stay with us again so we have another chance to show you the true value of our property. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucson hotels

tucson
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I literally melted into the bed. This hotel is both clean and comfortable. The staff members go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. I have been to this hotel many times and before the new GM took over, it was falling apart. I love what they have done to turn it around. The Diablo wings at Fire and Spice are to die for. The pool is 24 hours...Which in my travel experience, is unheard of. Just an all around GREAT stay....Did I mention how amazing the bed was...I didn't want to wake up...The front desk was even kind enough to extend our stay for an hour, so we could sleep in...I travel extensively and this is definitely a comfortable stay... KUDOS SHERATON!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misledandliberated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at our property. We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable rooms, and I'm glad to hear you enjoy the changes that were made by our new GM and management company, and the comfortable Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. We look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This hotel with it's staff from management to hospitality was an amazing team that guaranteed a wonderful stay. A birthday came during our stay and the hotel manager saw to it that a special request of a favorite pie was homemade and delivered to the surprise of its' recipient! The staff went overboard to make sure that we had everything we needed! Congratulations to those on board at the Hotel - what a great place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devinediane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you got to experience our great staff! We pride ourselves in delivering those personal touches to our guests whenever we're able, and are so glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration. We hope your travels will bring you back to us in the future and look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

we had a blast and actually booked an extra night once there. great stay at a decent value thanks to AAA discount. the beds were super comfy and the pool is heated which makes for a nice, winter morning swim. good coffee in the room and lobby. actually the lobby doubles as a cafe w/ internet and business center. we were there for leisure but it would have been a great place to stay for business. with the exception of the person i spoke to on the phone (restaurant / room service) trying to order some food, staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamperplexed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you had a great experience at our hotel and enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and heated pool. We're so glad we were able to make your stay pleasurable and hope we'll have the chance to do so again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

No problem at all. Great check-in and everyone from front desk to maids were helpful and friendly. Ate on site and waiter did a good job also...buffet reasonable priced and good selections. Close to heliport only drawback...but certainly worth the stay as people make life worth the journey...and these people are GREAT!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomu1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilytucson, Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and that we were able to make this part of your journey in life great! I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.0 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#29 of 130 in Tucson
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tucson - Grant Road
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#44 of 130 in Tucson
947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites

Property: Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Address: 5151 E Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85712-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites encompasses the intimacy of a boutique hotel with fun feel of an urban retreat. Take comfort in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, enjoy a delectable meal at Fire+Spice, and take in the breathtaking views of the nearby mountains. Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites' central location gives you easy access to surrounding businesses, cultural and recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tucson Hotel Tucson
Tucson Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing