We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old hotel with poor service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was my first time staying at this hotel, and it was a surprisingly underwhelmed experience, maybe I just had too high of an expectation for a Sheraton. Despite the fact that we got upgraded to a suite, the room was old with dirty and outdated furniture. The size of the suite was very large and comfortable but the bathroom was comparatively small and cramped. The shower area was old and towel rack was spotted with stains. When I had to ask for a replacement hairdryer since the one in the room was dirty beyond believe, the front desk lady did not apologize at all and pretended she couldn't hear me well over the phone. The next night when we had to ask for more towels, the front desk agent on duty actually told me the housekeeping person got into an accident so there was no one to deliver it to my room. She had to look for towels at the front desk and had me go down to get them. Very surprising personnel management for the size of the hotel. (I did ask if the person was ok and she said yes)
Also, you are not allowed to eat your own food at the firepit next to the pool, since it "belongs" to the hotel restaurant. The waitress actually asked us to leave despite it being an hour before closing with no new diners.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Our staff would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during you stay with us. There were several areas we felt short of our goal, such as the rooms being dirty and old, with small bathrooms, we were unable to provide you with towels upon your request to name a few. Please accept our apologies for your dissatisfaction. If there is anything I can do for you in the future, please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    191
    117
    73
    51
See reviews for
154
158
66
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past years and I always leave satisfied with the hotel and the service. I definitely recommend upgrading the room to a suite, as that will get you a separate living room and bedroom, refrigerator and microwave. The jacuzzi and pool are amazing, the pool was heated so I was able to enjoy despite the chillier weather. I was pleasantly surprised that there was entertainment by the pool on a Thursday. They alsi have a 24 hour starbucks in the lobby. Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the 4th floor because of the view, but ask for a room facing east to enjoy the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are glad you were able to take advantage of our services like the jacuzzi, pool and our entertainment. We will be having entertainment every Friday util the end of the year. Please visit us again and we thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on our way to San Diego. Just planned on it being a hum drum night on our way somewhere else. However..........WOW! We ate at the restaurant and there was entertainment out by the pool while we ate - excellent food and entertainment (Boogie Woogie was the guy's stage name). The room was huge with a large living area and separate bedroom. Plenty of room to move around. A wet bar and refrigerator were also very convenient and the room was very clean. I read Steven S.'s review about broken furniture and the closet, but our room was very nice. A small spot on the carpet by the bathroom sink, but that was it. I recommend the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us on your way to San Diego. You picked the right day to stay here with our entertainment that evening. Than you for taking advantage of our great food too. Please visit us again on your next trip,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It's not in the middle of the action, but does have a few restaurants around it. We had a 1 bedroom suite, which had a separate bedroom...very nice when my husband wanted to watch tv and I wanted to take a nap. The rooms were a little dated, but very spacious and clean. The lobby and public areas were very nice, looked like they had been newly refurbished. All of the employees were extremely friendly and most helpful, and we really appreciated it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed our spacious suites and our friendly service.

Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family and I were very surprised at the poor level of maintenance at the Sheraton 5151 E. Grant Road. We have stayed at Sheraton Hotels in the past and have come to expect a higher level of quality than we saw this past stay. Our room had broken furniture - the closet was missing both doors, the cabinet housing the front room sink was missing a piece of wood and the mirror on the door that separates the sitting area from the bedroom appeared to be ready to fall off. There was a huge clump of wires hanging under the computer desk. While using the pool we noticed a 4 by 4 section of tile was missing from the outdoor shower and insulation was exposed beneath. There was also a sensor hanging from a wire above the gym door. Just walking around there was an obvious visible state of disrepair. We were very disappointed in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Scottsdale, Arizone
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were here recently for two night stay and first at this property. Although the property is older I could not have been happier with our room (was upgrade because of my gold status). The bed and living area were both very comfortable and both were larger that could be if built today. We both though the Executive Lounge served a poor continental breakfast and happy hour snacks were sub par. This property had one of best room service menus I have encountered in a hotel recently and prices were, not great, but surely less than many hotels with a more dull offering. It is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but for what it is, it is very good. Frankly we enjoyed it much more than our previous stays at the Loews. One thing of note and sorry do not have her name, but the lady who checked us in at midnight was the most pleasant person I have every had when checking in late. She should run a training program on guest services. She was very alert and just plain nice. It is not a Ritz Carlton, but for what it is it very good.

Room Tip: Maybe higher is better, pool area busy with kids during day and at early evening with partying adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

the good and the bad..good: the people who work here are very nice and they were accomadating but they cant make up for the bad: the hotel is dirty and in need of renovation. we walked around the room in white socks that turned black in a few minutes. GROSS!!! the drapes were filthy, the pull out bed was HORRIBLY uncomfortable and the bath was teeny tiny. the a/c didnt work one night, we had to stay in the room and suffer, they comped us that night (as they should have) and it was fixed the next day. our breakfast buffet on the 4th floor was great food and good service, but thats not enough to bring us back. the pool was full of kids who were having a ball, so maybe its an alright place for families, but i certainly wouldnt recommend this place to anybody else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.0 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#29 of 130 in Tucson
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tucson - Grant Road
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#43 of 130 in Tucson
947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites

Property: Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Address: 5151 E Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85712-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites encompasses the intimacy of a boutique hotel with fun feel of an urban retreat. Take comfort in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, enjoy a delectable meal at Fire+Spice, and take in the breathtaking views of the nearby mountains. Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites' central location gives you easy access to surrounding businesses, cultural and recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tucson Hotel Tucson
Tucson Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing