We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What an upgrade from the old Plaza Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Tucson University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
Ranked #49 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What an upgrade from the old Plaza Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family had business at UA and this location was perfect. Aloft is completely redone with underground parking and a trendy lobby with pool table, cool lighted bar that's open late with sports on teh TV (Plaza Hotel blew that) and some food and drink service in the sitting area. The rooms are trendy too, but you can't be too bashful or you may find the bathroom set up a bit ... lacking in privacy. Service was good and the room was very clean and very comfortable.

This will most likely be my campus hotel for UA games and other on campus activities. Bear Down!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the South side that overlooks the edge of the Sam Hughes neighborhood and UA Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zonie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It’s wonderful to hear to hear you enjoyed our new modern hotel and the variety of on property amenities we offer. Our guests’ satisfaction is our number priority and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Go Cats!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    88
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
62
47
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
931 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The elevator is a bit unnerving, it is almost like you are in a bad Dracula movie or you are in a strip joint and you feel like the elevator is missing the pole. Not sure what they were thinking when they came up with this design.

The service was only OK. The place seems to be run by a young college aged crew. Many seem to like the location as it is near the university. A earlier reviewer mentioned that you should think "IKEA functional rooms" and we agree with that description. The property was very clean.

We stayed on the 7th floor however found the street noise (mostly the sirens) to be annoying as they woke us up numerous times. The shades are powerful and do keep the sun out however there is a blue light on the air conditioner box that was far too close to the bed and we had to find a way to cover it as it let out too much light.

Why no towel rack at the sink? And only one hook in the whole bathroom area (not near the sink)...no drawers but I do not think folks stay here longer than a night or two.

Because the place is new they have those new water conserving shower heads and no good pressure lead to a disappointing shower.

Coffee always out in lobby, stay in the little lobby restaurant were very nice.

Room Tip: Pick the highest level floor possible if you want it to be quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Yes it's new, pretty and modern looking. Beds are comfortable and the bar is very nice. BUT, it's not a hotel to stay at for a few nights. There are no bureaus and 5 hangers in the makeshift closet. Not even a drawer in the nightstand. Sink area was not private, and separate from the toilet and shower. This is not a "full service" hotel, which the girl at the front desk told me. Coffee was always empty in the lobby. Breakfast area was awkward.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NhLovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. The staff is so nice that I'm encouraging my Son to get a part-time job there while he attends college in Tucson. I'm in the Travel Industry so I stay at hotels a lot. The little bar downstairs was filled with other fun parents and we all chatted the night away. Bartenders nice. Wine is decent and only $6 a glass so they don't try to kill you with the prices like some other hotels. I loved it. Free parking, free - dependable- wireless and a great little breakfast corner in the morning with good hot, fresh hot sandwiches for around $6.00!! I'll stay here next time when I go down to see my Son! Great place!

Room Tip: Well, you either get a view facing the UA stadium or a mountain view. It's on a busy street near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirlwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great for parents visiting students or while moving students in or for any other reason,cause U of A is so close by. Book early, word is spreading fast among parents! Easy in and out, Great customer service, quiet air conditioning and dark room for sleeping and comfy beds!

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th floor . it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your recommendation to U of A parents and other Tucson visitors. Our hotel strives to provide quality service and exceptional stays for all our guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel becomes a night club on Saturday so if you want to sleep or are staying with your family( small children) you may definitely want to reconsider. The enclosed parking garage has a very limited amount of spaces and the parking lot constantly had drunk patrons lingering on the park lot during club hours. We travel to the Tucson area frequently and we will definitely not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironangel1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to hear that your recent stay with us was not what you had expected. Thank you for bringing the noise level to our attention, we have been working with our team on ways to better regulate the noise level during the later night time hours. We can assure you though, that the safety and security of all our guests is a top priority and we are fully staffed to provide this support and security, especially during evening events. We sincerely apologize for any noise disturbances you may have experienced and hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fun new budget hotel, well priced, great location. Think IKEA functional rooms with trendy hipster gathering areas downstairs, both inside and out. We enjoyed the open pool table, fun bar, and Saturday night DJ! The rooms are nice if spartan, but no drawers to be had anywhere, or even a towel rack near the sink! Good mattresses but unfortunately this hotel has fallen for the new 'water conservation shower head' rage, cryptically called something exotic (rain jungle? not sure) instead. The water pressure was so low we could not completely rinse out shampoo, no matter how long we tried. Ugh. Unfortunately the poor shower outweighs all the pluses of this place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our modern chic hotel and found our events to be entertaining. At Aloft Tucson we strive to provide guests with a unique, quality experience worth remembering. We apologize for the water pressure issue and currently have our maintenance team looking into this. We sincerely hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 846 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Property: Aloft Tucson University
Address: 1900 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85719-4631 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing