We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Clean, comfortable lodging adjacent to University of Arizona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great for parents visiting students or while moving students in or for any other reason,cause U of A is so close by. Book early, word is spreading fast among parents! Easy in and out, Great customer service, quiet air conditioning and dark room for sleeping and comfy beds!

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th floor . it was great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your recommendation to U of A parents and other Tucson visitors. Our hotel strives to provide quality service and exceptional stays for all our guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Aloft Tucson University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel becomes a night club on Saturday so if you want to sleep or are staying with your family( small children) you may definitely want to reconsider. The enclosed parking garage has a very limited amount of spaces and the parking lot constantly had drunk patrons lingering on the park lot during club hours. We travel to the Tucson area frequently and we will definitely not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ironangel1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to hear that your recent stay with us was not what you had expected. Thank you for bringing the noise level to our attention, we have been working with our team on ways to better regulate the noise level during the later night time hours. We can assure you though, that the safety and security of all our guests is a top priority and we are fully staffed to provide this support and security, especially during evening events. We sincerely apologize for any noise disturbances you may have experienced and hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fun new budget hotel, well priced, great location. Think IKEA functional rooms with trendy hipster gathering areas downstairs, both inside and out. We enjoyed the open pool table, fun bar, and Saturday night DJ! The rooms are nice if spartan, but no drawers to be had anywhere, or even a towel rack near the sink! Good mattresses but unfortunately this hotel has fallen for the new 'water conservation shower head' rage, cryptically called something exotic (rain jungle? not sure) instead. The water pressure was so low we could not completely rinse out shampoo, no matter how long we tried. Ugh. Unfortunately the poor shower outweighs all the pluses of this place.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our modern chic hotel and found our events to be entertaining. At Aloft Tucson we strive to provide guests with a unique, quality experience worth remembering. We apologize for the water pressure issue and currently have our maintenance team looking into this. We sincerely hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This property is my new downtown favorite.. great service, rates were cheap, and a quick cab ride to everything in town! We were able to book on a 24 hour notice for a friend's birthday party that was late notice. Loved that the Buffalo Exchange across the street was loaded with some great shirts for a little thrift shopping. Bar prices were good per hotel pricing, and Chris (if I remember) at the front desk was excellent when we checked in. Check out was quick and easy. I will for sure stay there next time I'm in Tucson!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spotty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is the second Aloft I've stayed in and I'm a big fan of the chain so far. The cleanliness, modernity, and functionality of the rooms is far above the price, when compared to traditional hotels at this price point that are often dirty and dated. The Tucson Aloft is even better than the Phoenix one because the rooms have larger entrances/bathrooms and seem newer/cleaner. I had a room on the 5th floor with a view of the beautiful Catalina mountains. Another good thing about the Tucson Aloft is that you can walk into a beautiful residential neighborhood right behind the hotel. The pool area is spacious with lounge chairs and a nice long patio (that unfortunately turns into a nightclubby thing late at night, so I couldn't just relax under the stars). All of this was only 3000 Starwood points, which is great value.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your recent stay with us. Our team is dedicated to providing each of our guests with memorable stays and it is great to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, hotel amenities and beautiful Arizona landscape. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Tucson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Well, I am not a huge fan of Aloft hotles. They are all very similar - some better managed than others.

As all Aloft I have been to, this one is a glorified budget hotel: limited services and amenities, cheaply built building. My room was near the elevator and was bothered all night by hallway traffic - poor soundproofing. The hotel is right on a very busy boulevard. My room was facing the street side - this made it very noisy.

This said, this property seemed well managed, nice staff, very clean and well maintained.

It has free underground parking, good free Internet connection, a small outside pool in the above ground parking lot, the usual Aloft bar and food pantry.

I was surprised that the parking elevator from the underground could get you straight to the room floors without any keycard control. I question the security of this.

My credit card was charged with abnormal fees, that got corrected after I contacted the hotel's accounting dept.

All services are within a short drive distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel’s amenities and friendly staff. The safety and comfort of our guests is our main priority and we can assure you we have taken all the necessary measures to ensure the security of our hotel is well maintained. Thank you again for your review and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Newly remodeled hotel, was Sheraton prior, this hotel is beautiful. From the minute you walk in the open lobby, sitting and bar areas are very bright and uplifting. The check in was very quick, staff friendly and helpful.

The room was super clean and spacious, bed very comfortable. The layout of the room was well thought out, they use every inch of space. Rooms are not large but the design makes it very comfortable.

The only negative would be the lack of closet/drawers for storage of clothing. If you are only staying a few days this place is perfect, longer stay could be a challenge on where to put things. Overall and excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view, higher floor. Even though it faces busy street the rooms are very quiet and t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Address: 1900 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85719-4631 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $125 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing