We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Tucson University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
Ranked #54 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed there overnight on a trip to see family on 05/26 to 05/27/13. The room was wonderful, clean, and quiet. The black out blinds were awesome so I definitely had a good nights sleep. I had no real complaints other than the ketchup at the breakfast was watered down. I would/will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    90
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
74
48
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful change from the dreary Sheraton Four Points that it used to be. The rooms are clean and contemporary, the Bar is fantastic with excellent customer service, and the prices are competitive enough that it is worth it to leave the hotels near the airport area for this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the lower price for the room by doing the "buy now" option if you can. Also, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our modern hotel and exceptional staff. We strive to provide all our guests with the most enjoyable experience possible. Thank you again and we hope to see you for all your future visits to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

They renovated the old four points in to an Aloft. We got there and at first was worried it was a little too cool for us. Cinco de Mayo party going on in the outdoor pool area was quite loud. We dropped off our stuff and went to dinner. To our surprise when we got back it was all gone. The people and loud music. The rooms are nice, the lighting takes a while to figure out. Strange switch placement between the bathroom 'divider'. A sliding door to provide privacy from the shower and toilet. Also the thermostat was a more complicated than it needed to be. My home thermostat doesn't have that many options. Once we got past these little quirks our 4 day stay was nice and quiet. Excellent location right on the corner of the University. Bruegger's Bagels is on the same block as well as two ice cream shops. Underground parking was also nice instead of baking the car all day. We will definitely be back when in Tucson again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. As a green initiative we have by the front door one switch that will turn off/on all the lighting in the guest room. If you leave the switch in the ON position at the front door then you can control everything by its own switch. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tucson so that we may provide you with the same exceptional service and relaxing stay. Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
230 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This Aloft just opened last month so everything is clean and new. The staff were nice and helpful and did a great job of juggling the crowd there for the Uof A graduation. The location is great with lots of places, including a Bruegger's Bagel right behind it. Enjoyed the pool and the work out room was busy but appeared to have room for them all. There is a seating area outside in the back of the hotel which was nice to be able to sit and talk quietly. My only complaint, which might be a plus to others, was a band on Friday evening in the lobby. The music was good just too loud to be able to talk. My sister's complaint was there was only 1 hook in the bath. Would stay here again but our Tuscon days are done.

Room Tip: Get above the 2nd floor if you do not want to hear and feel the band on Friday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great hotel, great location! We came for U of A graduation weekend, and really enjoyed the contemporary look of the hotel and the room. The WXYZ bar downstairs was cool and the bartenders were very nice. I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellykp0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

enjoyed the clean rooms. Outstanding customer service. Was pleasantly surprised by the Entertainment at the x_y_z bar !!!! Keep it up , see you next time I'm in Tucson. front desk was also very helpful made it easy to get a cab, and gave great suggestions for places to go

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stennitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We really appreciate your review-thanks for sharing! We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the live entertainment in our W XYZ Bar and hope that you will join us again during your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at the new Aloft for graduation. Great location within walking distance to University. Nice clean, big rooms. Very fun and welcoming atmosphere. Excellent food and beverage offerings in the lobby...loved the capuccino machine! Great outdoor patio to enjoy breakfast and beanbag toss. Very friendly staff...would definitely make a return trip to Aloft!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear to enjoyed your stay. Our team is dedicated to providing all our guests with a superior experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Tucson Marriott University Park
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#27 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Property: Aloft Tucson University
Address: 1900 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85719-4631 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing