We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been good, needed to be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golf Villas at Oro Valley
Ranked #81 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Should have been good, needed to be better”
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We were looking forward to our stay at The Golf Villas - looking forward to a 1-bedroom villa, with laundry facilities, and being able to unwind for 3 days, before heading to California for the rest of our trip.

What we got was disappointing. Firstly, let me say, that the villa is nice and big - plenty of room. They put us in a 2-bedroom villa, so we had plenty of room. The washing machine and dryer came in handy, after a week of travelling. Be warned, they don't do housekeeping for stays under a week, and the front desk is only available till 6pm each day, so don't have any problems after 6!!

That said, how hard is it for hotels to do the basics well? Not a good thing to walk in to the room, and find the following: hair in the shower, soap scum around the bath, dirt on the carpet, and sadly, not a great view. The website makes out that you can see the mountains, all we saw was a golf course and more villas.

We complained to the front desk, and they moved us, but the room we got moved to was obviously being repaired, because there were things all over the place - rags, screws, etc - and it was even dirtier than the first place. We moved back to the first one!!

On our second night, we arrived back around 8pm only to find that our swiper cards didn't work. Both of them. Even worse, the office closes at 6pm each day, so we had to call their security, and wait 20 minutes for them to arrive. Fortunately we met some nice people who let us use the phone in their unit to call the front desk after hours number, otherwise we would have had some trouble calling without a phone!

After that experience we left a day early. Enough was enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shady Side, MD
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

For the same price as a hotel, you can stay at a one, two or three bedroom condo with a private patio. We have family in Oracle and always stay here while visiting. This is the first time we had a concern. We had moved our luggage to the cars and remembered that we had not left a tip for housekeeping. It was 11:45 and all of our key cards had been deactivated. We went to the office and no one was there. Our apologies to housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelllady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Well, this place sure matches my expectations, got a very nice room overlooking the golf course and swimming pool, and this three bedroom (free upgrade, used only 1 bedroom) condo had everything i needed, really enjoyed my stay here, and was glad to live in this part of town and not down in tuscon itselfs, which is a 15 minute drive...
If i ever stay again in this area this would be my choice....
I think tuscon is a nice city to visit....so much options.....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bergen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed at the Golf Villas at Oro Valley for a three day business trip at the end of June. I have to admit I was a little wary at first, as the rate was only $71/night for a one bedroom condo, (lower than many of the hotels in the area), but for the price and the size (over 800 sq ft) I decided to give it a try. I love to eat in after a long day at work, so the idea of a full kitchen, plus all the extra room, washer and dryer, and nice sized patio, I figured it couldn't be too bad.

I was pleasantly surprised upon check in - seamless process and friendly staff - and the room was fantastic. Lots of room, big closet, and exactly as promised on the website. There would have been plenty of room for a couple to share the room.

After settling in, I did discover a few small issues - no light bulbs in the living room lamp or shower, and the curtains in the dining area fell down when I tried to open them. However, these were immediately fixed with a note left for housekeeping.

The pool area was small, but seemed adequate, and the fitness center was impressive - the equipment was much better than many of the chain hotels I have frequented. Staff was very helpful and had good recommendations for dinner.

Couple of items for the wish list - free wi-fi would be nice. I believe it was $7.95/day for the available connection. Also would be nice to have a few more items available in the kitchen. (measuring cups, more cooking pans, etc)

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Golf Villas to anyone traveling to Oro Valley or the north Tucson area - for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztrvlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband,children (ages 10 and 3) and I drove here from Peoria Az. When we arrived we were upgraded from a 1 bedroom to a 3 bedroom. This was a very nice surprise. The apartment was very clean and spacious. It had all the appliances you would need just as if you were living there. We could tell that we were located in a very nice part of town, close to shopping, dining and entertainment. We were close by to the pools and went swimming every night with our children. We were located right on the golf course with a beautiful view of the pond and mountains. We were amazed by the property and the rooms because we received such a wonderful rate. I would definately stay here again in a heartbeat, it would be a no brainer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueshapresemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

This was our first attempt at self-catering in the USA and, although it was only for 4 nights, it did have an effect on our holiday budget. Not only did we get a superb 1 bedroom fully equipped apartment, but we eat well courtesy of Trader Joe's. We still had a couple of meals out - he incomparable Guadalajara Grill and the traditional steak dinner at Chads - but having breakfast, a snack lunch and a dinner or two "at home" made a real money difference.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We just stayed here for five nights and were very happy overall. Great value for the price. Just know you are NOT close to downtown--expect a drive of 20 mins+. Unit was very clean except for the bathroom which could have used a little extra sweeping--the units show their age in the bathroom. The linens were very clean and maid service did a nice tidy every day. Kitchen stocked with cooking essentials. Views are spectacular.

You do have access to the El Conquistidor Country Club across the way which has a much nicer gym and pool area as well.

**Request a unit on the second floor. You upstairs neighbor can be heard at all times. Additionally traffic on the stairs outside the unit is quite loud.
**Internet is only free in the club house. Costs about $7 a day in the room.

I would have to say 5 stars for value, 3.5 for quality of resort. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RHP1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
4.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tucson
Candlewood Suites Tucson
#53 of 130 in Tucson
73 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
2.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Villas at Oro Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Villas at Oro Valley

Property: The Golf Villas at Oro Valley
Address: 10950 N La Canada Dr, Tucson, AZ 85737-5940
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Villas at Oro Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Golf Villas at Oro Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Villas At Oro Valley Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Oro Valley
Resort At Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing