We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golf Villas at Oro Valley
Ranked #79 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We just stayed here for five nights and were very happy overall. Great value for the price. Just know you are NOT close to downtown--expect a drive of 20 mins+. Unit was very clean except for the bathroom which could have used a little extra sweeping--the units show their age in the bathroom. The linens were very clean and maid service did a nice tidy every day. Kitchen stocked with cooking essentials. Views are spectacular.

You do have access to the El Conquistidor Country Club across the way which has a much nicer gym and pool area as well.

**Request a unit on the second floor. You upstairs neighbor can be heard at all times. Additionally traffic on the stairs outside the unit is quite loud.
**Internet is only free in the club house. Costs about $7 a day in the room.

I would have to say 5 stars for value, 3.5 for quality of resort. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RHP1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
423 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We just spent one week at the golf villas and were pleasantly surprised how nice the accomodations were. We were in a two bedroom/two bath and the room was like a small apartment. Our package included golf everyday, which we loved. The course was close by, right across the street and there was 36 holes there to play. We were in Oro Valley which is a very nice part of Tucson. Many restaurants and hiking spots were close by. We loved the trip and would stay there again, we actually extended our trip once we were there. The only downside was the pool area was small and there were many kids playing "marco polo" which becomes mundane after an hour.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

First day, shower heads were not working. We asked for a different unit which they could not do without moving us 3 or 4 times during our 11 day stay. They agreed to fix the shower heads. We also requested that they do a better job of cleaning as unit was very dusty & carpets were very soiled. Shower heads were replaced , but no cleaning was done. Fourth day we stripped the beds in hopes of clean bedding, which we got. It was a chore to get into the unit as the key lock would stick (worked the opposite way up instead of down). The bedspreads & pillow shams were very soiled, & smelled so bad we aired them on the deck every night & finally just put them in the extra closet & shut the door. Furniture was very soiled & we opted to sit on towels to protect our clothing. Drapery very dirty (food stained). Kitchen full of grease. We had guest come w/ small children & could not let them play on floor (very dirty carpets) . Close to the end of our visit the kitchen faucet fell apart. To sum it up the bedding only got changed once in 11 days. Towels replaced everyday, trash emptied everyday. Vacuumed once, because we set the vacuum in the entry. The best thing is the day we left!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2009

The hotel bumped us from a three bedroom. The pool was ice cold. The microwave didn't work. The walls and curtains looked like a bad party had ended the night before.
The housekeeping was inadequate and when we asked for more towels, they were left outside our unit in the dirt. The bill was wrong and it took a half hour to reconcile. Other residents woke us at 3 a.m. All in all, a poor experience. We have stayed at Golf Villas over the last 5 years and the units/management are just getting worse with each year.
We will not be back.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joanloel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsville, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

While searching for a place to stay while visiting Tucson for my sons wedding, I found this place. We don't golf so I almost didn't check it out. Why would you want to stay at golf villas? Well, after reading about it and checking the pictures, I was very interested in staying there. The price really made my decision final. When we got there I was amazed. It was really all they said at the web site. The rooms are beautiful with a fireplace in the living room and nice decor. There are huge walk in closets in the bedrooms. And the bathroom off the masterbedroom was great with a beautiful vanity mirror attached to the wall with a long arm, not that you would need it with the huge mirror that ran the whole wall behind the huge sink. There is a nice balcony that overlooks the golf course with an entrance to it from the bedroom and the living room. There is also a laundry area with a washer and dryer right off the bedroom. The pool is beautiful with a stream of water coming off the roof and going into it. That is the only area outside we used as I said we don't golf and were busy with the wedding. We have stayed at quite a few places on the east coast and down south and those places can't even compare to this place.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We found the Golf Villas by accident. We stayed one night over Memorial Weekend and just love it. Came back again the 4th of July and stayed two nights. The first visit we had a one bedroom condo that was just great. Great views and it felt like home. The second visit we got a 2 bedroom condo that was also exceptional. My daughter and husband went this time and they could hardly wait for the next trip. Oro Valley is the north part of Tucson and we traveled all areas of Tucson and it never took us anymore then 15-20 to get anywhere. It is great because it is in a residential neighbor hood on a golf course and you would swear it was a home. It is only 2 miles to downtown Oro Valley and has every kind of store and restaurant you could ever want. We are going back for my birthday in December and I'm sure we will make more trips back in the future also.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekendtraveler997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U S A
Level Contributor
274 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

WOW! What more can I say? The one bedroom villa was wonderful and the sunrise views simply breath taking! The front desk people were eager to help. We had a daily cleaning with fresh sheets and towels. The full kitchen was a plus and the whirl pool bathtub! WOW! We will definatly stay there again and again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
4.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
3.7 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Villas at Oro Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Villas at Oro Valley

Property: The Golf Villas at Oro Valley
Address: 10950 N La Canada Dr, Tucson, AZ 85737-5940
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Villas at Oro Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Golf Villas at Oro Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Villas At Oro Valley Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Oro Valley
Resort At Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing