We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always good.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golf Villas at Oro Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Villas at Oro Valley
Ranked #81 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Golf Villas twice and each time been impressed with place. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and having the large kitchen set out with all the necessary equipment is a blessing for travellers. Also having a large washer and dryer in the rooms is also good. The area is quiet and pleasant and good for early morning or late evening walks.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but away from the pool is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOBYSAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If we could rate them a 10, we would.

My husband and I have a vacation home in a neighborhood a mile from The Golf Villas which we, our family and friends visit constantly. Last Thursday, our wonderful neighbors (they're also dear friends) called to say the entire ground floor of our house was under 2 inches of water due to a burst pipe. Our second home is currently uninhabitable but thankfully, the Golf Villas had room for us, our "home-away-from-home-home", as we oversee the catastrophe cleaning, reclamation and reconstruction (we're still here).

Christine and Heather took our 2-week reservation remotely and made that process painless. The rate was ... well ... first rate, an absolute bargain. We're in a 2BR-2BTH, fully furnished ground floor apartment with a king bed, gas fireplace, cable TV in every room, free WiFi, full-sized washer/dryer, a kitchen with all the accoutrements, complete privacy, a beautiful view of the golf course and mountains, ample parking, various swimming pools, BBQ grills and patios -- all for much, much less than the cost of one hotel room. Let's just say the insurance adjustor was thrilled at the rate we received and immediately gave his stamp of approval.

When I couldn't figure out how to operate our TV, Christine came down after hours on a Sunday evening to help me. A minor issue with our WiFi received immediate attention from Christine and Heather and we were up and running in moments. Josh made a small adjustment to our stove (I cook a lot) within minutes of our request and supper was a grand success thanks to him. One caveat -- this is NOT a hotel, so there are no bellmen, luggage carts, etc.

A major grocery store, hardware store, Walgreen's, county library, weekend farmer's market and several mid-range restaurants are within walking distance.

If you live in Oro Valley and your annoying in-laws come to visit, put them up at the Golf Villas and they won't have a word of complaint. If you're visiting Tucson, stay at the Golf Villas and you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Golf Villas for about a week. We stayed in a two bedroom unit. The unit was clean and spacious. The kitchen was functional and fully equipped. The appliances, while not upgraded were in working condition. The unit came with a regular washer and dryer which we used daily. Parking was abundant. There was a pool and exercise room both easily accessible. We even had a jacuzzi bathtub. The location was great for our stay (we needed to go to the country club across the street and the Hilton a little ways away). Fry's was just down the street. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only very minor things were the AC was loud (but if you closed the bedroom door at night you couldn't here it) and we could here the people walking in the unit above. Not a problem for us but they were early risers.

Overall a great place to stay. My family and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor if you don't like hearing the people above but you'll have to carry you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylersmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

GVOV used to allow short stays. You could get a 3-bedroom for $120 special in the summer. Now they have raised 3-bedroom to $170 a night - with a 3-night minimum! Yikes ! It used to be a great hidden value in Tucson. It's a beautiful resort, but it just priced itself out of a lot of people's budgets that really liked that place. Too bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

If you are looking for a relaxing time away from the hustle & bustle, this is the place for you. Nice, spacious rooms to fit any family. Great for extended vacations, everything you need is right there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjbailey713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay. This is a 3-star condo/apartment type property with more than half occupied by permanent residents (NOT A HOTEL!!) so just know what you’re booking and you’ll be fine. The brochures in the unit basically advertised it as a corporate extended stay residence.

Good: Lots of space, good sized bedrooms, adequately sized kitchen, dining and living areas. Beds were comfortable and had triple-sheeting duvets (no yucky bedspreads). Nice stainless steel GE profile appliances in the kitchen, granite counter tops (in kitchen), and an adequate top-load washer and dryer (detergent provided). Overall, (except for the carpet which was quite dirty) the condo was clean and in good repair. There were plenty of nice, thick towels. Furnishings were a little worn, but nothing terrible by any means. Staff was fantastic! Everyone from the front-desk area to maintenance were extremely helpful and friendly. We even needed to jump-start our rental car one day and they were quick and happy to help. Nice views of mountains and golf course. The price was definitely right, less than $200 per night for a 3 bedroom unit.

Not so great: Dirty carpeting. The pool could have been cleaner, it’s basically just a rectangle about 15 ft. by 35/40 feet. It was only 4 ft. deep at its deepest so that was nice for the kids. The dry wind blew a lot of debris and leaves into the pool and by mid-afternoon it was in serious need of a cleaning to remove leaves. Kitchen was a little lacking in cooking pots and pans, and utensils (no spatula, large spoons, grilling tongs etc.), but met the basic needs. Bathrooms were a little dated and showing their age, but were clean. No housekeeping services.

Location: Oro Valley is pretty far removed from the main tourist sights of Tucson and there really isn’t any easy freeway access to get anywhere. The drive to downtown area, National Parks, Sabino Canyon and Desert Museum were 30-40 minutes, the Mission and the airplane museum even farther.

Overall, if traveling with family or a group and wanted space over resort amenities we would definitely stay again. For the price, it was a real bargain!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse,ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

Spent four nights the beginning of November before going to my timeshare in Scottsdale. Is located north of Tucson. Area is a bit removed from Tucson, restaurants and shopping not nearby. On the plus side, little traffic. Had a one bedroom villa. Nice view of mountains. Pool was nice, no one was hardly at pool eventhough temps were in the 80's.Nice golf course on grounds. Only negative was a hanging bathroom vent cover that I reported early on Friday and still was not fixed when I left on Monday. Staff was friendly. I would consider returning again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tucson
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
4.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
2.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
3.2 mi away
WorldMark Rancho Vistoso
WorldMark Rancho Vistoso
#1 of 1 in Oro Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Villas at Oro Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Villas at Oro Valley

Property: The Golf Villas at Oro Valley
Address: 10950 N La Canada Dr, Tucson, AZ 85737-5940
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Villas at Oro Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Golf Villas at Oro Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Villas At Oro Valley Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Oro Valley
Resort At Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing