We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambling was Good”
Review of Casino Del Sol

Casino Del Sol
Ranked #31 of 300 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Casino Del Sol, Southern Arizona's premier entertainment and gaming destination, offers nearly 1000 slot machines, live blackjack, poker and bingo. There are 6 restaurants and three bars, live entertainment Thursday - Saturday nights and world-class entertainment at AVA Amphitheater.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Gambling was Good”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The gambling was good in a very unique setting. Also for joining the Players Club, I received $10 in free play and a free buffet dinner. Their buffet was EXCELLENT!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    86
    37
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sterling heights
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Casino and Buffet”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We played the slots and really enjoyed the casino, lots of variety. We ended up dining there at the buffet and it was a 5 star for sure. All of the food was absolutely the best. We liked the place so much, we are coming back to visit family in April and staying at this hotel the whole time. Can't wait!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank marilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
632 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Avoid Thursday seafood buffet, smaller crab legs, overpriced.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This Thursday seafood buffet was famous for the snow crab legs. They are the biggest ones I have seen in AZ, CAL and the top buffets in Vegas (Ballergio, Wynn ...) I came back 1/18 and what a disappointment. The crab legs are smaller and they don't taste good at all. I don't mind they charge close to $30, but serve decent crab legs please. Management is cutting corners. The rest of the food is fine. They have a Chinese chef cooking Chinese food. The prime ribs was OK. Last time when I was there, there was a still a line around 8PM. We were there at 7 and there was no line. I knew something was wrong. The dinning room was not even full. Without good crab legs, it is not a bargain any more. I would not go there again because it is just a regular seafood buffet.

As far as gambling:
They have $3 Blackjack tables. The rules are OK. Dealers hit soft 17, which is a disadvantage to the players. You can find better playing rules at the Desert Diamond Casino. They allow surrender and double after split.

They don't have enough video poker machines. The odds are not really that good. I do not recommend playing serious video poker here. The best odds I have seen are at the Palms, Green Valley range Casino and the Red Rock Casino in Las Vegas. You can find 100% return video machines there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A DESERT GEM”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Casino del Sol of the Pascua Yaqui Tribe is a typical southwestern designed resort, hotel, meeting areas, and of course, casio. Black Jack, slots, poker and bingo all under one well conceived, designed and executed plan. From what used to be a Quonset hut, to it's current warmly decorated easy to navigate* and friendly attendants, you cannot beat it.
Sure it's a fifteen minute cruise down II9 from downtown Tucson to the Valencia exit then five miles west; but with acres of free and plentiful valet, the entire package is easy and welcoming. Dining opportunities offer a wide variety from buffet, to steak house, Mexican and smoothies.

As is our custom whenever we can, we lunched at Mr.An's (a Tucson area Chinese/Japanese restaurant legend) before hitting the games of chance. Mr.An's lunch menu is easy to understand,not at all overwhelming, has a few surprises (Korean noodles in black bean sauce with pork), has a few standards (Sezchuan shrimp with fried (lightly) rice, egg drop soup, hot n'sour soup....and a dozen other favorites. And, of course, Mr. An is there to personally greet every diner and offer suggestions and take suggestions as he has for decades in the ol' Pueblo.
Service is friendly, knowledgable, attentive and efficient.

The slots are fairly new....most with great video and audio mixes. The banks are medium sized so making your way around the various denominations is easy. One hefty high roller slot area is equally spacious and runs the gamut from $1/2/3 max to $5/10/20max spins. It's a busy area, well policed....

**There are actually two gaming areas separated by a lobby with buffet and retail store....perhaps the signage between the two could be better but, effectively you settle into one room or the other and don't bounce between the two. The only real difference is the dining facilities differing in each one and a larger bar with more sports screens.

Here's a great little escape on a brutal hot desert summer day or a glorious desert winter afternoon with snow on the mountains and the sky/ air as clear as can be. Casino Del Sol is well worth the stop for gamblers big and small.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank baird t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Smoke Gets in My Eyes”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The casino has a good mix of table and electronic games. Even on a Saturday you could find a seat a a five dollar black jack table. The dealers and pit bosses are friendly and helpful. More than half of the electronic games, are penny slots, very few quarter or dollar slots. There is a very large bingo hall in the casino.
We did not eat at any of the restaurants.
Beware it is a smoking facility and there is quite a lot of smoke. If you are seated within three slots of a smoker you will get smoked out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino Del Sol also viewed

 

Been to Casino Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing