We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway”
Review of Casino Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casino Del Sol
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We live in a rural area of Southern Arizona and planned a trip to the "big city" to have a change of scenery. Many friends told us of this resort and thought we would give it a try. We were excited upon entering the vast facility, following the signs as if we could get lost if we didn't pay attention. We parked in front of the hotel and were immediately greeted in a friendly and professional manner, efficiently checked into our room, and were given directions on where to park and the lay-out of the property. The room was modern and beautifully appointed with a pillow top bed and large flat screen television. After getting settled we toured the property. We were impressed by the casino which was laid out in a very organized way with plenty of room to move around. (Many casinos have narrow aisles). There were ample slots and many gaming tables for those so inclined. Throughout the casino were a great number of choices of places to eat (we later chose the PY Steakhouse). They even have a Starbucks! The pool area was the highlight of the property, at least for us. We enjoyed the afternoon in the lovely pool setting with plenty of cabanas, umbrellas, and lounges. Pool towels were ample and service by the pool was attentive (thanks Daniel). We can't say enough about this place and we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are so glad you chose Casino Del Sol Resort as the place to stay for your trip to the "big city". It is great to hear we were able to accommodate you in so many ways. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 908 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel several times and cannot say enough good things about it! I have only had one "mishap" while staying there and the staff was more than accommodating in fixing it. They rooms are always clean. There is plenty to do for families and singles alike.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moedeemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is good to know that even a "mishap" can be accommodated. We look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is great. We had a beautiful view of the mountains. I went with my daughter (her birthday). We spent over 5 hours at the spa and every treatment was amazing thanks to the exceptional staff: Rosalind, Veronica, Cisco. The steakhouse food was superb, just the cocktails are served in the smallest glass I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing Casino Del Sol Resort as the place for celebrating your daughter's birthday. Nothing like a great spa treatment to make a special day even more special. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about our "exceptional staff", and will pass along all of your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The room was great with a spectacular view. Service was awesome with nice extra touches. There is a number of excellent options for restaurants and I won in the casino. Loved it! I will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank PalmTreeenthusist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am so pleased to learn you loved your stay with us and you will definitely be returning. We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We usually stay in the larger resort hotels when we pass through Tucson in the summers. This year we decided to try the other side of I-10 and dropped a little South to the Casino Del Sol. We checked in(at government rates) and found the rooms to be very comfortable. The food to be good and affordable, and a large selection of slots to let us throw our money away at an acceptable pace. All and all the complex is clean well kept up and geared toward not only the locals ,but middle aged travelers who want a relaxing but not hectic evening of fun. We will go back.

Room Tip: face the pool or the parking lot, mountains in both directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased we were able to tick all the boxes for you, and am happy to learn you will be returning. We look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our experience at the hotel was very meh.

It was nice to be offered a complimentary upgrade to the sky level.

Room service is relatively inexpensive, but the food quality and tastes is commensurate with the cost.

We ended up having a roach as guest in our room in addition to several flying bugs. When we first complained to the front desk they were not surprised and were unapologetic. We then complained to the front desk manager and were given a 50% discount on one night's rate. The housekeeping did not come up until 45 minutes later to get rid of the roach either. The roach was particularly disturbing because we have a young infant that has a travel crib, which sits low to the ground.

The casino is okay. It seems mostly to be an attraction for locals. Some of the dealers are very nice, others are unnecessarily rude. There are no complimentary drinks. The casino is very stingy on its comps.

We had to catch an early flight on our date of departure and were surprised when we called downstairs at 5:10 am and were told that there is no valet on duty and that we can collect our keys from security and go find our car ourselves. This was particularly surprising because this is a large hotel and casino -- one would think that there is always enough staff to have someone get a valeted car.

The sushi/chinese restaurant's food was okay, but the service was excellent.

The hotel is a good choice if you are in Tucson for a night, want something close to the airport, would enjoy some table games during your stay and do not want to stay at the average airport hotel. It is also close to I-19, which can be convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DangerCarlosDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

All feedback is important, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry to learn your experience was less than we want any of our guests to experience. I will definitely pass along your comments to the appropriate departments. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very Excellent with customer service. The beds were fresh and smelled good. The view was great. You didn't hear noise from out side. I love to go back and stay again. They have a nice work out room. The spa is great. The lady that did my eyebrows knew just what I needed.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
708 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
794 reviews
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
19.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
15.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Del Sol

Address: 5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757-9714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: $106 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Del Sol, Spa and Conference Center is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Resort and a Four-Diamond Triple AAA resort nestled in the secluded mesquites of the high desert; and just 15 minutes from Tucson International Airport and downtown Tucson. Includes: *Hiapsi Spa and Fitness Center, *Prema Lobby Lounge, *Festa International Buffet,*PY Steakhouse, *Ume Asian Cuisine Sushi Restaurant, *Expansive pool area featuring the Oasis Pool Bar, *High Limit Lounge, *Covered parking garage, *Various other restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Casino Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Del Sol Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing