We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Carnival of Illusion
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.99*
and up
Carnival of Illusion in Tucson
Ranked #4 of 31 Concerts & Shows in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: STEP RIGHT UP and get ready to laugh, have fun, and celebrate a magical night out with Carnival of Illusion! This top-rated program is "Revitalizing Magic" by blending an international travel theme with all the charms of a Vaudeville-inspired roadshow. Travel up-close with the national recipients for "Excellence in Magic" and catch a lively slice of magical history! Carnival of Illusion is Magic, Mystery, and OOOH la la! This Must-See event is great for date-nights, anniversaries, celebrations and special nights out. Purchase tickets in advance. Due to the popularity and intimate seating, shows sell out. For audiences 10 years and older. Step right up, join the fun, and experience an Evening of Old-World Magic!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Tucson, Arizona United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

In celebration of Mother's Day and my Dad's 72nd birthday, I purchased front row seating to attend the last show in Tucson this season. We all experienced a truly entertaining and delightful evening. Well worth the price to see charming, dedicated professionals invite us into their parlour and journey with them to the carnival of illusion - I did feel like a kid again, smiling from ear to ear, amazed and satisfied when it was time to return home again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    17
    5
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Marvelously Entertaining...and Confounding!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

What a wonderful way to spend an evening! My husband and I took my mom there for Mother's Day and were all delighted with the experience. The intimate Victorian parlor setting with just 35 guests is very cozy and interactive. TIP: Spending the few extra dollars for front-row seating is well worth it; I even got to be in a segment of the show, and I'm still confounded by how Roland Sarlot and Susan Eyed actually DO that stuff!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Refreshingly Different”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a kick! Magic and illusion but so different, unusual, and exciting. A great evening out! So different than Vegas. So much more intimate and exciting with the audience as willing participants of one of the most unusual, fun shows that I have seen. Great for date or a family outing. Tip: The theater is about the size of your living room so don't pay extra for the front row seats. Kids need to be 10 or older.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must See”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Unusual,Extrodinary,Entertaining with some magic, some humor, some music and some attention to the audience. I especially liked the limited audience, smaller meant better seeing, hearing and participation. Prices are reasoanable.. The actors are very good, how about a lady magician. A handsome man and a pretty girl add to the show very charismatic. Audience was in no hurry to leave,they all enjoyed the evening together.. An opportunityfor an unusual night out.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VilaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant night out”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Okay-- this was definitely fun and interesting but I feel that the other reviews on here are a bit misleading and "hyped" up. If you are expecting a fun night out and something to do, then this will be just fine. But if you are expecting amazing, nonstop magic, you will be disappointed. The magic was good and impressive but definitely not on a very high level. If you are expecting something like David Copperfield, you'll be sorely disappointed. Also, there wasn't as much magic as I had hoped. There was a lot of talking and acting that went along with the magic, but in my opinion it would be good to put in more magic tricks. However, their goal was "parlor magic" so maybe that's what parlor magic is like...?

There is a lot of audience participation which is great. Susan and Roland themselves were entertaining, warm, and funny, and they seemed like genuinely nice people. The setting/ stage is pretty cool and inviting, and it's a small crowd so it's very intimate. Also you can do a 2 for 1 dinner with the tickets, which I HIGHLY recommend. The restaurant food was very good! Overall it was a pleasant experience but I did feel a bit let down after reading all the other reviews on here. However, with dinner included, it was money well spent and decent entertainment.

Just remember to go in with no or low expectations and you'll probably have a good time. Oh- and if you are French you might get offended at one of their skits- keep an open mind :-)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carnival of Illusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing