We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I just love the Hub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HUB Restaurant & Ice Creamery

HUB Restaurant & Ice Creamery
Reserve with OpenTable
HUB Restaurant & Ice Creamery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,971 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 5th Ave & Congress
Transit: Ronstadt Transit Center
Description: Hub offers American Classic Cuisine in a historic modern space in downtown Tucson. We feature meats, ice cream and beer. We are super kid-friendly and have something for everyone. HUB DJs play every night from 10pm til close
AZ
Level Contributor
502 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“I just love the Hub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best sandwiches and ice cream in town. The only problem is that the portions are so big it's hard to save room for the ice cream. So you may have to make two trips to experience the full pleasure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    170
    55
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food, Zombies and Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We made reservation at the Hub for 12 zombies on the night of the Tucson Zombie Walk. I explained what we were doing when I made the reservations and was told no problem...and true to her word...we were treated like royalty! All of downtown Tucson was busy with crowds everywhere. Our table was ready and we were seated immediately. Our server was friendly and provided quick and efficient service for all 12 with a smile and with 6 checks. Food was delicious; we enjoyed salads and sandwiches. We will return again. Lots on the menu we want to sample.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skipandlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Volcanic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've been to the Hub 3 times now and I really like it. I would like it more if it wasn't so far away (from me), Oh well. Had the Shrimp & Grits last time and WoW, they were Volcanic HOT! but great. The Grits were smooth and cool and gave me xtra (Thank God!) Great Bartender. I recommend it highly. In 2029, when the city completes the light rail, it will be even easier to get to.
Seriously, they built the cross country railway faster than this boondogle!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GearyOutWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! Really great food at the HUB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This restaurant has a really wonderful atmosphere and great food. We also sampled ice creams, and they were among the best we've ever tasted. They are associated with The Playground next door. I have always maintained that I don't like pastrami; this restaurant has made a pastrami fan out of me!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tolvanera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great comfort food, drinks and dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

~ My kids love the extra long hot dogs and big booths. The wait staff is extremely friendly and speaks directly with the children. There are not many places downtown to brave with 4 hungry children. If you find yourself in this situation, this is the place to go.
~ The bar is superb and the bar staff was accommodating when a few of us decided we were hungry long after the kitchen closed. They prepared a wonderful cheese plate for us.
~ On the rare occasion that I find myself downtown at a mealtime, this is my first choice of where to eat. I am a sucker for their corned beef.
~ Their homemade ice creams and sorbets. Good luck choosing just one. I recommend getting a few to share with a group.
~ Recently I went to Congress for the bloody mary bar afterwards I went here for brunch then stopped by some of the nearby galleries. It makes for a wonderful Sunday morning.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HUB Restaurant & Ice Creamery also viewed

 

Been to HUB Restaurant & Ice Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing