We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tamale's in Tucson”

Tucson Tamale Company
Ranked #8 of 1,991 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Tamale's in Tucson”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is not a Mexican restaurant but a tamale shop, so don't be confused. Just for a great tamale fix or take out is all you really need or should expect with about a dozen types, including desert types. My favorite are the Blue corn and Wisconsin cheese. Great to send as gifts as you can also pick up frozen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the review Mike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    175
    57
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best tamales we have ever had”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A huge variety of meat, vegetarian, and vegan tamales. You can take home frozen tamales too. My husband was thrilled to get Bohemia beer here. I loved the green chilie tamales and he loved the curry tamales.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynettte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Lynette! We love the Bohemia beer too... maybe too much... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, NY
Level Contributor
279 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first-ever authentic tamale experience. I have to say, we were pretty impressed. The service was friendly. The staff ready and willing to offer order suggestions and the place is neat and clean. We liked it and we would return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank canela42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the review! We look forward to serving you next time you visit from NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Tamales”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is a wide range of tamales for all food lovers. There is vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free options to be had here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squeakersbestbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! We love being able to offer different things for "all food lovers', as you put it. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Little Tamale Joint!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place has wonderful tamales. I discovered it on Tripadvisors and have gone there twice. Both times the tamales have been fresh and delicious. I'm going to Tucson next week and will go to the Tucson Tamale Company again for some more tasty treats. I highly recommend this spot. No atmosphere, but delicious tamales. I even took some to go and they were just as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for visiting us from Phx, Susie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Tamale Company also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Tamale Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing