We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best tamales you can find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tucson Tamale Company

Tucson Tamale Company
Ranked #5 of 1,903 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tamales you can find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We eat here every time we travel to Tucson. We also order off their website and have tamales shipped to us at home. Consistently excellent food, great service, and affordable. Definitely our favorite in Tucson!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashley_hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you Ashley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    138
    39
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Tamale Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went here based on trip advisor reviews and you guys didn't steer me wrong, ordered a pork tamale and a green corn tamale, and a side of guacamole and chips. everything was delicious. Your not coming for the ambiance, your coming for what they are good at and those are tamales. Not greasy, great texture, very flavorful and many creative options. I really wish I could return and try more. In Tuscon you should try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks Rocky5001! We look forward to serving you next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Have Tamale will travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just got back from a trip to Alaska to visit friends in Juneau.Being from New Mexico we are about picky about mexican food outside our region. Our daughter lives in Tucson and our trips departure for AK.We had tamales at the TTC before and were sold ,not only the flavor but the variety. We took 4dz frozen in an ice chest bought at walmart. The owner herself helped us an assured us the tamales would not spoil on our 7 hour trip.She was right.Placed them in the freezer on our arrival and 4 days later with the help of a steamer and great ALASKAN SUMMER beer we reached Epicurean nirvana.Our choices that gave us such great satisfaction,
JOJO=spicy beef,SANTA FE=pork loin,SANORAN=chicken and green chile and TUCSON=cheese and spicy jalapeno masa.
Check out their website,25 Different tamales including breakfast and dessert.
Im fixin to order some RIGHT NOW..............

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toonderdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for the review from Las Cruces! Glad you enjoyed the tamales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
434 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good tamales and quesadilla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Easy to find and with plenty of parking out front this is a good spot for a quick bite even when just driving past.

We tried the Jojo and the Sante Fe Tamales, we preferred the Sante Fe. We also had a quesadilla which was cooked to order and was very tasty.

Worth a look if you need a quick bite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good tamales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The tamales are great, and each type tastes original and unique, which is unusual. They are a bit small, so you may want to get beans and rice to go with them, but don't. It's the Tucson TAMALE company. They make good tamales, but the rice and beans are nothing worth mentioning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks for visiting us all the way from Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tucson Tamale Company also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Tamale Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing