We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUMM!”

Tucson Tamale Company
Ranked #11 of 1,976 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMM!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you go to Tucson you must try the Tucson Tamale Company. Only 5 min. from the University. My husbands favorite was the traditional tamale and he knows his tamales.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank catfishrob674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much! So glad you and your husband enjoyed the shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    173
    54
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful tasty packets of goodness”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not always your usual tamales, but Boy are they all Tasty! My personal fav is the Austin (once you get beyond the spinach and mushroom colors in the blue corn masa). For a different taste, you can get the New Delhi and the Dogmale (different because you don't expect the flavors you're tasting to come from within corn husks). But the one I stock up on is the Thanksgiving Tamale which is only available around Turkey Day. it's like a wonderful tasty turkey pot pie all wrapped up in a husk. Love Love Love 'em! It's only May- I still have six months to wait. They have vegan and vegetarian options on many of the tamales. Service is quick and friendly at the counter if you want your tamals to go, or there is both indoor and outdoor seating where they'll bring you your food. Colette's green salsa is a nice medium salsa in the heat department.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks! I love stocking up on the Thanksgiving Tamale too... can't get enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tamale Today, Tamale Tomorrow!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You HAVE to try these tamales! Even if you only sort of like tamales or are not sure. I had a vegetarian "Blue Tamale" with blue corn meal, squash, corn and cheese. It was yummy! My husband had two tamales: chicken and pork. They were moist, cheesy, and the best we ever had. They do a large take-out business of frozen tamales and now that we tasted them, we know why. Our tamales came with one side per tamale ordered. Not so easy to find, use your GPS. It's definitely worth it! Not fancy but helpful staff and quick service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, Anne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value and tasty food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This restaurant is inexpensive, has fast service and excellent quality food with lots of tasty tamale options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tassyca2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting us ALL the way from Victoria!! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Ever Tamales”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have eaten a lot of tamales but these are the best I have ever had. Maybe your memory of your mother or your grandmother's tamales can compete but it will be close. Add to that vegetarian and vegan options and creative combinations in the fillings. What is not to like!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCtripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, Public Relations Manager at Tucson Tamale Company, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for the review from California! Flattered to know we compete with the memory of Grandma's tamales. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tucson Tamale Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing