We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still one of my favorites!”

Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,989 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: BROADWAY + 6TH AVE
Transit: If you are arriving on the public bus system you can stop at the Rondstat Center downtown and walk 1 1/2 blocks south on 6th Ave. to 135 S. 6th ave.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorites!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Nursed the very tasty "Vietnam" cocktail all through the meal. Love the calamari and the duck. Service was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    105
    47
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So glad we ate here”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We eat at Downtown Kitchen every time we come to Tucson and we are glad we were able to fit it into this visit. From our cocktails, to entrees, to dessert, everything was excellent. Service was maybe a little slow to start, but we weren't in a rush, so it was fine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Momrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it. Going back!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Janos is a character and his food is amazingly good. Really, I think he is a genius chef. I don't say that very often - he really is that good. And I love it that he took a risk, closed out his fancy foothills digs and took the leap into downtown Tucson. The vibe at his downtown space is great - very much like Portland OR where we often live. The art on the walls - from next door's Etherton galleries - provides food for the soul. The street dining is exceptionally nice. Did I mention the excellence of the food? When we were last there we had a typical "too haute" young thing seat us on the patio, but then had the most charming waiter one could ever ask for. And the people watching was great! The crowd was made up of an abundance of good looking polished people, professionals, cowboys, artists, young families, older folks who have their act together and so on. Multilingual. OK, this is a great review. Loved it. Can't wait for the streetcar to open so we can take it to Downtown!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoKiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty food but small portions.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Wife and I both had different fish dishes. They were very tasty, but the portions were far too small for the price (and my appetite). Drinks were also over-priced. I understand the new Tucson image, but this isn't LA or South Beach.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UAEprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Jewel Downtown”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a reservation and arrived early. Went to the bar for happy hour, and decided to stay and dined at the bar. bartenders very attentive, and made excellent cocktails. Good beer and wine selection by the glass. The food was innovative (It is a Janos restaurant) and reasonably price. Place was packed and buzzing when we left at 8PM. Good to see some life in downtown Tucson.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wfatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing