We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cool vibe, delicious food, great service”

Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: BROADWAY + 6TH AVE
Transit: If you are arriving on the public bus system you can stop at the Rondstat Center downtown and walk 1 1/2 blocks south on 6th Ave. to 135 S. 6th ave.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great, cool vibe, delicious food, great service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a great restaurant, it's has a downtown vibe of a much larger city, and it is a cool people watching atmosphere. The food was excellent, the calamari was in a unique mango, ginger sauce, and it was oh so good. I had the mahi in a lemongrass coconut sauce, my husband had the cioppino. Excellent both. There was no beef on the menu which disappointed hubby but other than that, no complaints.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    109
    47
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Cocktails & Fish Tacos”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not usually a fan of Janos' places but love the building and the location. The Fish Tacos were near perfect. The Mole french Fries were not...just a mess of soggy fries with lumps of pork...not a fan. The night we were there a private group nearly took the whole place over...very loud and a bit annoying. All in all we will be back.....My wife loves the Cuban Sunset cocktail and so did our friend. The ceviche was also excellent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tucsonfoodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place in Tucson!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We went here after round of golf so late lunch was our goal. This place was fantastic - food, service & atmosphere!! Had cocktail special of the day which was quite unique and the calamari & the fish taco appetizers! We tried their special ice cream sundae which capped off an awesome experience!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PBBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Great food, service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the latest entry by Janos in the Tucson area. Located in the old Barrio Grill space, this restaurant offers vegan entries to pork cheeks. Everything is delicious and the service and space are delightful. The place is renowned for its cocktails but I was there for lunch and didn't try one. Best, the place has its own parking and outdoor seating. Perfect for before a downtown performance or a business lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant Upscale Dining Exoerience”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a friend visiting from Chicago and were looking for something a little special. Well we found it. Being from Chicago this restaurant reminds me of numerous Chicago eateries especially those in the River North and Randolph Street areas. Clever entrees, properly prepared and plated. Our friend had the salmon, my wife had the shrimp special and I had the braised beef rib. I always judge a restaurant on how they braise meat and this was as good as it gets. Our friend had the salmon and while I did not sample it I will take her word for it that it was good. My wifes blackened shrimp was good but the grits were a miss. Too dry for me.
Service was great! Lots of team effort on the part of the front of the house to take care of the guests whether they were theirs or not. A nice experience all in all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gastrnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing