We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Tucson Lodging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cat Mountain Lodge
2720 S Kinney Rd, Tucson, AZ 85735-1502   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Fantastic Tucson Lodging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Cat Mountain and thoroughly enjoyed every part of it. The room was wonderfully decorated in the southwestern theme, the bed was very comfortable, and it was quiet, a real plus for a light sleeper. Everything about our 3 night stay was perfect and we highly recommend this to anyone who wants good quality and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in Spencer's Suite and it was spacious and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixieaug5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cat Mountain Lodge was great. We did the two hour observatory and got a full two hours of personal attention from an astronomer. She let us look at whatever we wanted and got to see stars, super novas, galaxies, just to name a few. I recommend doing the observatory for anyone staying. The lodge rooms were huge. Four of us stayed and enjoyed the garden, hummingbirds, and overall atmosphere. Staff was great and we have nothing but praise to say about the place. Breakfast vouchers were more than adequate for a huge breakfast at the Coyote Pause Cafe which was within walking distance. I read the reviews before we went and everyone was dead on. The lodge did allow us to bring our 5 and 8 year olds and the 5 year old claimed the "fancy hotel" was the highlight of his trip. Easy commute to Sonoran Desert Museum, Old Tucson, Saquaro National park Visitor center. Had movies in the lobby (no kid ones) you could get any time.

Room Tip: Sierra Madre is great for families with children. Real spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Ca.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This lovely Bed and Breakfast met and exceeded my expectations in every possible way. Ambiance, service, landscaping, you name it and they have it covered beautifully. I am already looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Take time to walk around the grounds and research a bit about the owners. Their story is fascinating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the lovely and huge Sierra Madre suite and had a wonderful three nights here. The room was comfortable and everything we could have hoped for, the hosts are very friendly and helpful, the common area with cookies and a computer a nice touch, but the real beauty of the place is how close it is to the great outdoors.

Before you even step outside, there is a lovely cactus garden in the inner courtyard; then you are surrounded by Saguaro cacti outside the windows and around the grounds. You are just a few miles down the road from the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Saguaro National Park, where we spent a whole day and then were very happy to have just a few minutes' drive to get back to the lodge and rest from all the activity.

The included breakfasts at the Coyote Pause were fine, and by the second day the waitresses thought of us as regulars and remembered which of us were tea drinkers and what else we might want.

The Cat Mountain Station consignment store was also a hidden jewel. We didn't go in until our final morning and I was very glad we hadn't missed seeing it, even though we didn't have room in our suitcases to get much there.

If we are in Tucson again, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the Sierra Madre suite; I didn't see the other rooms so cannot compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_if_by_Land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are in the middle of a two week (12 days) stay and that in and of itself should tell you what we think of this place. Each day we receive a free voucher for either breakfast or lunch at the local Coyote Pause Cafe. We ate there last year several times as well and every meal was/is delicious. It may sound like I own the place and want to do some self-promotion. But the truth is, we are happy here and find it easy to recommend. It's thumbs up for the Cat.

Room Tip: We are staying in the Fiesta Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mythumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucdon, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our stay here was a delight and a deal! The room and setting was lovely and comfortable. Coyote Pause Cafe offered great meals (breakfast or lunch is included in each night's stay) The Lodge's commitment to conservation and ambiance is admirable. We enjoyed hiking in the area, biking and a wonderfully fun evening dinner at Fred's Arena Bar and Grill about 14 miles from the B&B. Music and dancing the first and third Saturday's of the month was an extra treat. We also enjoyed the guided star gazing from the lodge's own small observatory, Spencer's Observatory. Kat greeted us when we arrived, friendly and welcoming. The small marketplace of shops offered more diversion.

Room Tip: The Fiesta room was large and had a lovely view from the window over the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsearoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here as we were visiting the nearby observatory. Each room has been lovingly decorated and the lady who checked us in was so friendly and genuinely interested in making us as comfortable as possible. Generous rooms and a lovely set of shops and galleries within 1 min walking distance. The cafe was excellent - some of the friendliest people we met on our trip. Our daughter left her doll behind, not only did they email us but they also posted same day delivery so we could fly home with it. Above and beyond the call of duty! Highly recommend. (The only reason I did not give rooms 5 stars is because there was a bit too much light coming from the courtyard - could do with a thicker blind on the door)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.1 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#9 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
10.1 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Mountain Lodge

Property: Cat Mountain Lodge
Address: 2720 S Kinney Rd, Tucson, AZ 85735-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2009, our beautiful 13 acre eco-friendly bed & breakfast offers a vintage ranch setting with 5 spacious rooms, a mix of Southwestern comfort and modern conveniences. We also have a guest house available. Nearby artisans shopping center, telescope observatory, cafe, hot tub, nature trail, labyrinth, and desert tortoise enclosure makes Cat Mountain Lodge a fine destination for locals and traveling visitors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing