We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a more natural location”
Review of Cat Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cat Mountain Lodge
Ranked #4 of 47 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“Great place in a more natural location”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We selected this place to be closer to the Saguaro National Park West.  The place is very nice, two years  old.  Very nice hacienda style interior courtyard with fountain and many native plants.  This is open to the sky and the rooms all have their doors facing the interior courtyard.  I was impressed by the decor, nice Mexican pottery and crafts everywhere.  Our room was the fiesta room with a very comfortable king size bed and very smooth sheets.  Loved the bathroom.
Very nice areas to sit outside near the telescope.  Also a very nice desert tortoise habitat/ enclosure.
Nice service.   Rooms are very clean and the place is quiet since it is set back from main road.  Small refrigerator and good wifi.

Breakfast at coyote pause is included in the rate.  Very large breakfast and tasty too, you get to choose from the menu.

There are not many restaurants nearby for dinner, but there are a few.

The only bad thing about this place is that it is bit expensive, but  it offers good discounts in the summer.

I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
61
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here April 1, 2012 with two girlfriends. We shared the Sierra Madre suite and were thrilled with the hugely spacious, brightly decorated room. It was clean and interesting. Great comfy beds and a nice shower. Plenty of places to plug in hair dryers by a mirror too! There was a small refrigerator, but no coffee making ability. We are always up too early for coffee in the lobby and that was disappointing, but the full breakfast at Coyote Cafe, included in our rate, was fantastic. I would return to the cafe for any meal if I was in the area. The grounds are really lovely and such a pleasure to wander outdoors in a peaceful setting. We took advantage of a private session in the observatory and learned more from our PHD Astronomer guide than could be retained. Other services are nearby, and the hiking trails in Saguaro National Park West are easily accessed. Tremendous location if you don't want in-town location.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms, as the entire setting is quiet and opens o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay if you enjoy getting a little out of the city but like to be close to things to do. The lodge is located in what seems to be a forest of saguaro cacti! The accomodations were clean and comfortable. The lodge is a little bit off the road so it is peaceful and quiet. Included is either a breakfast or lunch located on the property. There is an observatory on the premises and you can reserve time with an experienced and knowledgeable astronomer. Our guide was a recent Phd graduate who tailored the two hour session to our level - interested star gazers with no formal education in astronomy. Also located near the property are several attractions such as the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Old Tucson western movie set and the Saguaro National Park. Of course, there are many other attractions around Tucson that were not far away and we drove 30 minutes to the Titan missle silo for a fascinating tour. We would highly recommend a stay at this lodge!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Room was very comfortable. Great shower. Enjoyed walking around the grounds. They supply organic bath products. Quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was a truly unique experience. This is a five room B&B that is only a few years old. As such, the rooms are new, spacious and clean. The big attraction; however, is the star gazing program. The B&B also owns "Spencer's Observatory" and operates a nightly astronomy program (for beginners). My wife and I spent 3 hours with Robby, who showed us the wonders of the night sky through three high powered telescopes. If you have an extra night in Tucson, I definitely recommend staying here and signing up for the star gazing program. Breakfast was great, too. Get the corned beef hash dish.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

If you want to visit the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum, Old Tucson or the Saguaro West NP, this is the place to stay. In less then 10 minutes you can reach them from the Cat Mountain Lodge B&B.

We were greeted warmly and showed our room, which was very good. The innkeeper Angel was very friendly and gave us advice. So sad that we had just 1 night there.

The breakfast was very good in the Coyote Pause Cafe.
We highly recommend the Cat Mountain Lodge B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodenshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Arizona to visit with our daughter. We stayed in the guest house which was the perfect location for us all to be together. The house has a very secluded, private feeling to it and the views were gorgeous. Although we didn't cook much, it was handy to have a full kitchen. Laundry facilities were a plus- you go through clothes in a hurry when the temperatures are over 100 degrees. It was easy to feel at home in such a comfortable cozy house. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay as we prefer the mountain views to the city lights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Graytravelers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
13.2 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
779 reviews
10.2 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
689 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
8.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Mountain Lodge

Property: Cat Mountain Lodge
Address: 2720 S Kinney Rd, Tucson, AZ 85735-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2009, our beautiful 13 acre eco-friendly bed & breakfast offers a vintage ranch setting with 5 spacious rooms, a mix of Southwestern comfort and modern conveniences. We also have a guest house available. Nearby artisans shopping center, telescope observatory, cafe, hot tub, nature trail, labyrinth, and desert tortoise enclosure makes Cat Mountain Lodge a fine destination for locals and traveling visitors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing